2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy: the top three records that were broken during the quarterfinal leg

2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy: The four quarterfinals of the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 took place on Monday, November 28. Following a number of exciting group stage matches and preliminary quarterfinals, the top three records that were broken during the quarterfinal leg were as follows:

The first quarterfinal saw Punjab defeated by four wickets by Karnataka. Despite Abhishek Sharma’s efforts, his score of 109 was in vain. For Punjab, Vidhwath Kavareppa took four wickets. Karnataka was able to chase down 236 with four balls left thanks to Ravikumar Samarth’s 71.

Maharashtra defeated Uttar Pradesh in the second quarterfinal on the strength of a world-class innings by Ruturaj Gaikwad (220* off 159), who scored 330/5 in the first innings. Aryan Juyal played well and hit a brilliant 143-ball 159, but he was unable to get UP over the line. In 47.4 overs, UP was bowled out for 272.

In a different match, Assam defeated Jammu and Kashmir by seven wickets. Shubham Khajuria and Henan Nazir, with scores of 120 and 124, helped Jammu and Kashmir reach 350 for seven. Following Riyan Parag’s stunning 116-ball 174, Assam won the match.

Rishav Das was also the author of a century.
Saurashtra defeated Tamil Nadu by plain sailing in the fourth quarterfinal. Saurashtra batted first and scored 293/8 before bowling Tamil Nadu out for 249 in 48 overs.

A slew of records was set during the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 quarterfinals as a result of exceptional performances from a few individuals. In this component article, we will investigate the main three records that were broken during the quarter-last leg of the opposition.

#3 N Jagadeesan has now scored the most runs by a batter in a single Vijay Hazare season

Possibly the tournament’s best player, N Jagadeesan had a stellar season for Tamil Nadu. scoring five centuries in a row, the most recent of which was a world-record 277 against Arunachal Pradesh.

During Monday’s quarterfinals, the Coimbatore-born player added another personal milestone to his resume. He only scored eight runs from six balls, but those runs made him the Vijay Hazare player with the most runs in a single season.

N Jagadeesan scored a staggering 830 runs for Tamil Nadu in just eight matches this year, averaging 138.3.
When Prithvi Shaw scored 827 goals for Mumbai in the 2021 season, he held the record.

#2 Riyan Parag is now the fastest Indian to score 150 in a List-A knockout game

In the match against Jammu & Kashmir, Assam’s Riyan Parag crushed a stunning 116-ball 174. Parag scored 150 runs with 12 boundaries and six sixes in his innings.

The Guwahati native became the fastest Indian to score 150 in a List-A knockout game on his way to a career-high score of 174. In contrast to Prithvi Shaw’s 100-ball 150 against Saurashtra in 2021, Parag reached 150 in just 98 balls.

#1 Ruturaj Gaikwad now holds the record for the most runs and sixes in a List-A game in a single over

It was indeed a special day for Ruturaj Gaikwad, who broke a number of records with his amazing innings of 220 runs without losing against Uttar Pradesh in 159 balls.

Gaikwad’s strike rate was just under 140, whereas the other batters on his team all hit for 88 or less. He hit ten fours and 16 maximums. It’s interesting to note that seven of his 16 lusty sixes came in a single over. As a result, he became the first player to ever hit seven sixes in a row in an over.

Gaikwad now holds the record for smashing the most runs by a player in an over in Men’s List-A cricket, scoring 42 runs off Shiva Singh’s over.

In addition, Gaikwad’s 16 sixes on Monday tied for the most by an Indian batter in a List-A inning. During his 209*-run innings against Australia in 2013, Rohit Sharma also hit 16 sixes.

Follow Us