Brad Hogg believes Mitchell Starc’s catch was clean because “I still feel his two fingernails were underneath the ball”: On the fourth day of the Lord’s Test, Ben Duckett was dismissed by Mitchell Starc, according to former Australian spinner Brad Hogg, who thought Starc made a clean catch. While the first out was adjudged, the third umpire overturned the decision when replays showed that Starc had clearly grassed the ball while completing his movement.
However, Hogg believes that since Starc had control of the ball, the decision should not have been overturned. He also believes that the pacer had something under the ball, even though replays suggest otherwise.
In a video on his YouTube channel, here’s what Brad Hogg said about Mitchell Starc’s Catch:
Starc just placed the ball on the ground after finishing his maneuver because he had control of it. However, I continue to believe that the ball was under his two fingernails. That eliminated it. However, the Steve Smith play (of Root) did not result in a dismissal because, despite having his fingertips under the ball, Root was also seen touching the ground. After the ball reached the turn, he lost control of it, which is why it wasn’t out. That’s not out since he wasn’t able to control it when he brought it to his chest.
We have got to accept the decision: Mitchell Starc
In a video that Cricket Australia posted, Mitchell Starc expressed his own assurance that he had total control of the ball. He did, however, acknowledge that the umpire’s ruling was definitive and believes that Australia must accept it, just as England must accept Jonny Bairstow’s stumping.
Regarding this, Starc Had Said:
It is going to move interestingly with the catch of the same viewpoint. But look, we have to accept him like they are going to accept stumpings. I was very confident and had no doubt that I had control of the ball. Obviously, they are following the letter of the law which states that the ball was on the turf hugging my body.
While the Aussies seemed to have moved on with Strache’s decision of holding the catch, the hosts are still fuming that the visitors didn’t withdraw the appeal for Jonny Bairstow’s dismissal. This may spark some sparks in the Headley Test.