Latest Sports News

Commonwealth Games 2022: Cricket Australia Announced Women’s Squad

Cricket Australia has announced its women’s team for the Commonwealth Games. He has not made any changes to the 2022 World Champions squad for the Games in Birmingham. Meg Lanning will lead this unchanged women’s team.

The team will travel to Birmingham with new coach Shelley Nitschke as head coach Matthew Mott has left Australia to work for England. Matthew Mott has recently been named the head coach of England’s limited-overs team.

Image Source-

The Commonwealth Games 2022 will organize in Birmingham from 28 July to 8 August. Australia women’s cricket team won the prestigious trophy after defeating England by 71 runs in the World Cup 2022 final.

Doubts on Ellyse Perry’s play

There are doubts over the availability of Australia’s star all-rounder Ellyse Perry for the CWG. She is currently battling a back injury. She can take part in CWG as a batsman. The team’s physiotherapist Kate Bearworth said Ellyse Perry’s availability at the Games would depend on her progress and medical advice. It would be clear in the coming weeks.

The team will play a tri-series before CWG

The Australia team is ready to train at the National Cricket Center next month. They will also begin their journey to the upcoming CWG. Australia will face Ireland and Pakistan in a tri-series before flying to Birmingham.

It will be a great experience to play Commonwealth with athletes from other sports

Meg Lanning said, “It will be a wonderful and new experience for our players to spend time with athletes. Players from badminton, squash, lawn bowl, and many other sports during the Commonwealth Games. We all grew up watching CWG on TV and just as Australian athletes have inspired all of us so far. Hopefully, we can do the same.

Aus Women Squad

Meg Lanning (Captain), Rachel Haynes (Vice-Captain), Darcy Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashley Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington.