As the Iberians cruised to a 2-0 victory over Uruguay behind a brace from Bruno Fernandes, Portugal guaranteed its place in the knockout round of the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar.
However, it was Fernandes’ first goal that sparked discussion. Portugal won thanks to his second-half penalty kick, which he converted.
Fernandes sent a beautiful cross into the box, finding Cristiano Ronaldo up front, as the game was evenly matched at 0-0 and both teams were searching for the elusive first goal of the game. The ball bounced right in front of the goalkeeper as the former Real Madrid great sprang highest, and it then waltzed into the goal.
Ronaldo, 37, claimed that he touched the ball before it crossed the goal line, and the scoreboard appeared to support his claims. He then celebrated the goal as if it were his own.
However, after closer examination it was discovered that the talismanic forward had in fact made no contact with the ball, and Fernandes was given credit for the goal.
Tuesday saw FIFA issue a statement in response to the event.
“We are able to conclusively show no contact on the ball from Cristiano Ronaldo for the opening goal in the game,” the statement from the world football governing body read. “In the match between Portugal and Uruguay, using the Connected Ball Technology housed in Adidas’ Al Rihla Official Match Ball.
Al Rihla, the ball that was used for the 1st World Cup in the Middle East, has been outfitted with the most recent cutting-edge technology to assist the officials in making better judgements and be able to calculate several parameters relating to the happenings on the field.
With six points from two games, Portugal is presently in first place in Group H after winning their matches against Ghana and Uruguay.
On December 2, Portugal will face South Korea in their final group-stage match.