Latest Sports News

FIFA World Cup 2022, Round of 16: Qualified groups, timetable and how it works

With the World Cup knockout stage having started, here is an outline of the groups progressing to the last 16 at the competition in Qatar:

How does the knockout stage at the World Cup 2022 work?

In the knockout stage the groups will play each other once, with the triumphant group going to the following round. There are all out of four rounds: Round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and last, which will occur on Dec. 18.

There is likewise a third spot season finisher between the failures of the semi-finals. Assuming the scores are equivalent toward the finish of ordinary playing time.

Additional time is played for two times of 15 minutes each. In the event that the score is as yet tied, this is trailed by a punishment shoot-out to decide the champs.

Which groups have equipped for the knockout stage?

Bunch A * The Netherlands protected a spot in the last 16 with triumphs over African heroes Senegal and hosts Qatar, besting Gathering A regardless of a 1-1 draw with Ecuador.

The dominant African Heroes began the World Cup with a misfortune to the Netherlands, yet they turned their fortunes with a 3-1 win over has Qatar and an unequivocal 2-1 success over Ecuador.

Bunch B * Britain punched their pass to the knockout stage as top of Gathering B with 7 places, following insistent triumphs against Ribs and Iran and a goalless draw with the US.

The US qualified as sprinters up of Gathering B after a 1-0 triumph over Iran in a coordinate eclipsed by political strain following draws with Ridges and Britain.

Bunch C * Argentina tore back the best position in Gathering C with prevails upon Mexico and Poland after a stunning misfortune in the opener against Saudi Arabia. They will next confront Australia on Saturday. * Poland secured a spot in the last 16 as sprinters up of Gathering C after a success over Saudi Arabia, a draw with Mexico and a misfortune to Argentina. They meet France on Sunday.

Bunch D * Defending champs France followed through on assumptions and turned into the main group to meet all requirements for the last 16 with successive Gathering D successes over Australia and Denmark, trailed by a 1-0 misfortune to Tunisia.

Bunch E * Japan flooded into the last 16 as the dark horses victors of Gathering E after the Samurai Blue organized two dazzling rebound prevails upon Germany and Spain, losing just to Costa Rica

Bunch F * Morocco finished off Gathering F with prevails upon Canada and Belgium following a goalless draw with Croatia, and will play against Spain on Tuesday.

Croatia joined the last 16 after two goalless

Draws with Morocco and Belgium and a 4-1 triumph over Canada. They will next confront Japan on Monday.

Bunch G: * Brazil booked their ticket for the knockout stage with consecutive wins against Switzerland and Serbia, trailed by a 1-0 misfortune to Cameroon. They will point toward the South Korea on Monday.

Switzerland got the other participants spot in Gathering G with a 3-2 win over Serbia and a triumph over Cameroon, and will proceed to play Portugal on Tuesday.

Bunch H * Portugal completed Gathering H with a loss by South Korea yet clutched their best position to confront Switzerland on Tuesday.

South Korea secured passage to the knockout stage with a last-heave prevail upon as of now qualified Portugal, following a goalless draw with Uruguay and a misfortune to Ghana.

Follow Us