Latest Sports News

FIFA World Cup 2026: to host jointly by 3 nations



The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be jointly organized by the US, Mexico, and Canada. This is the first time in the history of FIFA that three countries will jointly host the World Cup. FIFA (International Federation of Association Football), the governing body of football in the world, has announced 16 host cities for the next edition of the World Cup on Thursday night.

In this 48 teams will participate instead of 32. Currently, the current season of the World Cup is going hosted by Qatar. The tournament will start from November 21 to December 18. Only 32 teams are participating in this.


60 out of 80 matches will be in the US, 10-10 in Canada and Mexico

In this tournament in 2026, 60 out of 80 matches will come into play in America. 10-10 matches in Canada and Mexico. “This is a unique and a huge moment for the football world in North America,” said American Football Federation President Carlos Cordeiro.

Cities to host –

  • America: Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Houston, Kansas, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and Seattle.
  • Mexico: Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey.
  • Canada: Toronto, Vancouver

At the FIFA conference in Moscow, the US, Mexico, and Canada jointly submitted their bid for the 2026 World Cup. All three had defeated Morocco in the election of the claim. More than 200 national football associations voted here. The joint claim got 134 votes, while Morocco could get only 65 votes.

did you know?

20 years ago in 2002, Japan and South Korea together hosted the World Cup. At the 68th FIFA Congress conference held in Moscow, national football associations voted in favor of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

The most popular sporting event is the FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is the biggest sporting event in football and in the world. It competes with the Olympics in terms of spectator capacity and popularity. Whenever this tournament started in 1930, the eyes of the whole world are fixed on it. It organizes once in four years. France was the winner of last FIFA World Cup. While the first winner of the WC was Uruguay.