Gurcharan Singh, a cricket coach, received the Padma Shri.

For his work with Delhi and India cricketers, Indian coach Gurcharan Singh received the Padma Shri, one of the country’s highest civilian honors. Kalarippayattu champion S.R.D. Prasad Gurukkal and Thang Ta guru K Shanathoiba Sharma were two other athletes who received Padma Awards.

From Kirti Azad to Ajay Jadeja, Maninder Singh to the more recent Murali Karthik, Gurcharan, 87, had a significant impact on the lives of 12 international cricketers and more than 100 domestic players. His playing career was limited to first-class cricket.

In addition, he was the second cricket coach in the nation to win the prestigious Dronacharya Award, following Desh Prem Azad in 1986.

Because of his influence on players, India and Delhi cricketers collaborated in 2015 to play a T20 exhibition match in the Indian capital to celebrate his 80th birthday.

The 87-year-old won the prestigious Dronacharya Award in 1986, making him the second cricket coach in the country to do so after Desh Prem Azad.

Many people who had come to enjoy the nostalgia echoed, saying, “He was our coach and guru for life.” The former India and Delhi spinner, Maninder Singh, recalled, “I remember I needed to leave cricket and sir came to my home on his bicycle to get me.”

In addition to operating Delhi Blues and National Stadium Cricket Centre, Singh established the Dronacharya Cricket Foundation in Delhi.

friendly match between the Delhi Veterans cricket team and the Old Patelians Cricket Association earlier this year, Gurcharan batted first, with the legendary coach representing the Patelians.

In the 2023 honors list that was released by the Government of India, three seasoned coaches from various physical disciplines were given the Padma Shri awards.

Three of the 106 Padma Awards, which were given to athletes, were approved by India’s President on Wednesday. At a ceremony in the Rashtrapati Bhawan in March or April, K Shanathoiba Sharma (Manipur), SRD Prasad (Kerala), and Gurcharan Singh (Delhi) will receive the Padma Shri for distinguished service in their respective fields.

Follow Us