In his epic innings of 220 runs against Uttar Pradesh, Ruturaj Gaikwad broke five records

In the current Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 quarterfinal match against Uttar Pradesh, Ruturaj Gaikwad played the innings of a lifetime. Gaikwad scored 220 runs in Maharashtra’s first innings with 159 balls. He didn’t get any runs in his 50 overs to lead Maharashtra to 330/5.

He hit 10 fours and 16 sixes in his knock. It should be noted by fans that Ruturaj Gaikwad scored nine of his 16 maximums in the final two overs of the innings. In the 49th over that Shiva Singh bowled, he hit seven sixes, and Kartik Tyagi got two sixes in the final over.

Numerous domestic and List-A cricket records were broken by Gaikwad’s innings. The top five records that the Maharashtra opener set are as follows:

#1 1st player to score 7 sixes in 1 over

No one has ever hit seven maximums in a single over in any format, but Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, and Herschelle Gibbs have all hit six sixes in an over. At this point, Ruturaj Gaikwad is the first batter to hit seven home runs in one out.

As the first bowler in List-A cricket to concede seven sixes to the same batter in one over, Shiva Singh’s name has also been added to the record books.

#2 Maharashtra’s highest List-A score

Ruturaj Gaikwad became the eleventh Indian batsman to score a double century in List-A cricket. While playing for Maharashtra, he was also the first to accomplish this feat.

Ankit Bawne previously held the record for Maharashtra’s highest individual score in List-A matches. In Ranchi last week, he scored 184 runs off 143 balls against Puducherry. With his current innings of 220 runs, Ruturaj has broken his record.

#3 Most runs scored by a batter in a single over in List-A matches

As previously stated, Ruturaj Gaikwad now holds the record for the most sixes scored by a player in a single over (excluding extras). He has also broken the record for the most runs scored by a single batter in one over of List-A cricket.

Gaikwad scored 42 runs off Shiva Singh’s 49th over, while all of the aforementioned players scored 36 runs in one over.

#4 Most runs by a team in 1 over of Vijay Hazare Trophy

Kerala scored 35 runs off an over bowled by Hyderabad’s D Ravi Teja in a match at the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2009/10 in Chennai. This was the most runs scored by a team in one over. Kerala held this record for nearly a decade, but Maharashtra now holds it.

Maharashtra scored 43 runs off six balls bowled by Shiva Singh, excluding the one extra run that was given up by a no-ball.

#5 Most sixes by a batter in 1 match of Vijay Hazare Trophy

Ruturaj Gaikwad now holds the record for the most sixes made by a batter in a single Vijay Hazare Trophy match, with 16 sixes. In List-A cricket.
In his 209-run win over Australia in 2013, Indian captain Rohit Sharma also hit 16 sixes. The record for the most sixes scored by an Indian in a List-A match is shared by Sharma and Gaikwad.

Follow Us