Latest Sports News

In the midst of the selection debate, Shubman Gill slams the second ODI century and declares his intention

Shubman Gill got off to a slow start in the third and final ODI between India and Sri Lanka, but he quickly picked up the pace of his innings.

On Sunday, Shubman Gill scored his second century in an ODI. The right-handed batter had a slow start in the third and final ODI between India and Sri Lanka at Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

He then played more quickly, hitting Lahiru Kumara with four consecutive fours in the sixth over. In 52 balls, Shubman scored his fifty runs, but the next 50 runs required only 37 balls.

It is important to note that the player took the nod with both hands prior to Ishan Kishan, who had scored a double-century against Bangladesh last month. Gill had scored 70 runs in the series’ first game against Sri Lanka.

Kasun Rajitha’s bowling caused Gill to be bowled out for 116 runs in 97 balls. The Sri Lankan pacer with the right arm bowled a slower ball that stayed low. Gill jumped down the track, but the ball hit his stumps before he could get his bat on it.

There were 14 fours and 2 sixes in his innings. India’s skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss earlier and chose to bat against Sri Lanka in the third one-day international on Sunday in an effort to win the series.

In Thiruvananthapuram, the hosts made two changes after their victory on Thursday, which gave them an unbreakable 2-0 lead. Hardik Pandya and Umran Malik have been rested.

Suryakumar Yadav and Washington Sundar, who are both great Twenty20 players, will be on the team.
Additionally, Sri Lanka has made two adjustments in their bid for a consolation victory.

Dhananjaya de Silva and Dunith Wellalage are both replaced by Ashen Bandara and Jeffrey Vandersay.
India: Sri Lanka: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (captain).

Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj.

Kusal Mendis (wk), Avishka Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, and Lahiru Kumara

Follow Us