Latest Sports News

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20: 17 runs were scored in the very first over of the match

Team India has won the first match of the year 2023. India beat Asian champions Sri Lanka by 2 runs. The team won the first match of the year after 5 years. Earlier in 2017 we beat England by 3 wickets.

With this victory, the hosts have taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. The second match of the series will be played on January 5 in Pune.

Batting first after losing the toss at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Team India scored a score of 162 runs. After that, the visiting team was dismissed for 160 runs. Captain Dasun Shanaka scored the highest 45 runs from Sri Lanka. While opener Kusal Mendis added 28 runs.

Credit- Getty Images

17 runs were scored in the very first over of the match

17 runs were scored in the very first over of the match. Indian opener Ishan Kishan scored 16 runs in the first over of Kasun Rajitha. This includes one six and two fours. One run came from extra.

India’s top order flopped except for Ishaan. Sri Lankan bowlers did not give Gill, Surya, and Samson a chance to play freely. Suryakumar Yadav, the highest run-scorer for India in 2022, got out after scoring 7 runs.

Shubman Gill, who was debuting, also got LBW on the ball of Mahesh Teekshana in the powerplay. At the same time, Sanju Samson, who is returning to the team, got out after scoring 6 runs in 5 balls.

This is how India’s wickets fell

  • First: Shubman Gill became LBW on Mahesh Teekshana’s ball. He could only score 7 runs.
  • Second: Suryakumar Yadav was caught by Karunaratne at short fine leg by Bhanuka Rajapaksa.
  • Third: Sanju was caught by Madushanka standing at the short third man on the ball of Samson de Silva.
  • Fourth: Ishaan Kishan wanted to hit Wanindu Hasaranga’s ball, but was caught by De Silva at deep mid-wicket.
  • Fifth: Dilshan Madushanka’s ball went behind the wicket touching Pandya’s bat. Wicketkeeper Kusal Mendis did not make a mistake in catching which.

The team has landed without seniors

In the three-match series, the team has landed without seniors like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. Team India’s new opening pair will be seen against Sri Lanka. Shubman Gill and Ishaan Kishan will open the innings.

Debut cap for Gill-Mavi

In the first T20, Shubman Gill and Shivam Mavi have been given a chance to debut. Gill was given the debut cap by vice-captain Suryakumar Yadav and Mavi by captain Hardik Pandya.
At the same time, Arshdeep Singh was not available for selection.

Follow Us