Latest Sports News

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20: Sri Lankan wickets

Team India has won the first match of the year 2023. India beat Asian champions Sri Lanka by 2 runs. The team won the first match of the year after 5 years. Earlier in 2017 we beat England by 3 wickets.

With this victory, the hosts have taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. The second match of the series will be played on January 5 in Pune.

Batting first after losing the toss at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Team India scored a score of 162 runs. After that, the visiting team was dismissed for 160 runs. Captain Dasun Shanaka scored the highest 45 runs from Sri Lanka. While opener Kusal Mendis added 28 runs.

Credit- Getty Images

Sri Lankan wickets fell like this

  • 1st: Pathum Nissanka bowled by Shivam Mavi.
  • Second: De Silva was caught by Mavi at the hands of Sanju Samson.
  • Third: Aslanka wanted to hit, Umran Malik’s ball stood up with the top edge of the bat. The wicket keeper took a tremendous catch with a long run.
  • Fourth: Mendis wanted to cut Harshal’s short wide ball, but the ball went into the hands of Sanju Samson standing at deep cover.
  • Fifth: Bhanuka Rajapaksa wanted to play Harshal Patel’s length ball at long off, but the ball did not go that far and was caught by captain Pandya at mid-off.
  • Sixth: Hasaranga caught Pandya standing at mid-off on Mavi’s ball.
  • Seventh: Captain Dasun Shanaka was caught by Chahal off the bowling of Umran Malik.
  • Eighth: Fuller length ball by Mavi to Mahish Teekshana. On which Teekshana was caught by Suryakumar Yadav at long off.
  • Ninth: Kasun Rajitha run out. Karunaratne looked to take a double from deep mid-wicket but was run out by Akshar Patel on a sharp throw from Deepak Hooda.
  • Tenth: Karunaratne plays this shot towards deep midwicket. He wanted to run 3 runs in the last ball, but could score only one run. Deepak’s throw gets run out by Kishan.

Indian top order flopped

India’s top order flopped except for Ishaan. Sri Lankan bowlers did not give Gill, Surya, and Samson a chance to play freely. Suryakumar Yadav, the highest run-scorer for India in 2022, got out after scoring 7 runs.

Shubman Gill, who was debuting, also got LBW on the ball of Mahesh Teekshana in the powerplay. At the same time, Sanju Samson, who is returning to the team, got out after scoring 6 runs in 5 balls.

17 runs were scored in the very first over of the match. Indian opener Ishan Kishan scored 16 runs in the first over of Kasun Rajitha. This includes one six and two fours. One run came from extra.

Follow Us