IPL vs PSL budget expensive Rupees 2023

The T20 movement in cricket has resulted in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Pakistan Super League (PSL). Both leagues are well-known throughout the world, and they gave cricket’s T20 format a new, exciting look that fans love. Likewise, numerous youthful and unmistakable cricketers got their chance to show their ability through these arrangements.

The Indian Premier League is held every summer at various Indian or sometimes foreign stadiums and typically lasts two to three months. Eight teams competed for the trophy in the inaugural season in 2008, but since then, the number of teams has fluctuated as fewer teams have been included or excluded from the tournament.

After each team plays two home and away matches against an opponent, the top four teams in the points table advance to the playoffs. There are currently eight teams in this competition: Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Lucknow Super Giants, Gujarat Titans, and Kings XI Punjab.

PSL Budget vs IPL Budget

The IPL began in 2008 with eight teams, each of which paid a fee to the Cricket Board of India for their participation. These eight teams paid the BCCI a total of $723.5 million during the IPL’s inaugural season to participate in this tournament.

This amount has changed each season up until this point as the tournament progressed to a new level of success. Teams interested in participating in the tournament are required to pay the BCCI a franchise fee each year. In the previous season, each franchise received a purse of 3 crores, with a total allocation of 85 crores for the following season.

In contrast, in 2015, the Cricketing Board of Pakistan (PCB) sold the rights to the five teams that competed in the PSL’s inaugural season for $90.45 million. After that, the rights to Multan Sultan, a new team that joined the PSL in 2018, were purchased for $41.6 million for eight years.

When it comes to the budget for media coverage, the IPL matches are broadcast by nearly 25 sports broadcasters annually worldwide, necessitating a significant allocation of media rights. On the other hand, the PSL has been broadcast annually by eight to ten sports networks.

IPL vs PSL: Comparing the Prize Money Distribution

The Indian Premier League is thought to be one of the richest domestic T20 leagues in the world. Therefore, the IPL is significantly ahead of the PSL in terms of its winning prizes and other allowances. Every year, a significant sum has been spent on the winning team and runners-up. Similarly, various titles such as tournament player of the year, leading scorer, leading wicket-taker, and so forth. have also received significant winning prizes.

The IPL’s current winner receives a prize of INR 20 crores, while the season’s runners-up receive INR 12.5 crores. In contrast, the Pakistan Super League currently awards INR 3.75 million to the tournament’s winner and INR 1.5 million to the league’s runner-up. The prize structures of these two tournaments are markedly different from one another.

However, both leagues pay INR 10 lakhs for individual awards like the player of the tournament, leading run-scorer, or leading wicket-taker. However, the IPL has an advantage over the PSL due to the fact that the IPL prizes the third- and fourth-ranked teams in the tournament, whereas the PSL does not. The IPL offers INR 8.75 crores to the season’s third- and fourth-ranked teams.

Highest Salary Of PSL 2023

Players NameCountryFranchisePrice
Shadab KhanPakistanIslamabad United1,70,000$
Alex HalesEnglandIslamabad United1,70,000$
Rahmanullah GurbazAfghanistan Islamabad United1,50,000$
Haider AliPakistanKarachi Kings1,70,000$
Matthew WadeAustralia Karachi Kings1,70,000$
Shaheen AfridiPakistanLahore Qalandars1,70,000$
Rashid KhanAfghanistan Lahore Qalandars1,70,000$ 
Fakhar ZamanPakistanLahore Qalandars1,70,000$
Mohammad RizwanPakistanMultan Sultans1,70,000$
David MillerSouth AfricaMultan Sultans1,70,000$
Joshua LittleIrelandMultan Sultans1,70,000$
Babar AzamPakistanPeshawar Zalmi1,70,000$
Bhanuka RajapaksaSriLankaPeshawar Zalmi1,70,000$
Rovman PowellWest IndiesPeshawar Zalmi1,70,000$
Mohammad NawazPakistanQuetta Gladiators 1,70,000$
Wanindu HasarangaSriLankaQuetta Gladiators 1,70,000$
Naseem ShahPakistanQuetta Gladiators 1,70,000$
Imran TahirSouth AfricaKarachi Kings1,70,000$

Salary Comparison of Players In IPL And PSL 2023

Rahmanullah Gurbaz60,453$1,50,000$
Fazalhaq Farooqi60,453$1,30,000$
Moeen Ali9,67,250$1,30,000$
Matthew Wade2,90,175$1,70,000$
Rashid Khan18,13,595$1,70,000$
David Wiese1,20,906$1,30,000$
Harry Brook16,02,010$25,000$
Sikander Raza60,453$60,000$
Rilee Rossouw5,56,170$1,50,000$
Tim David9,97,477$60,000$
David Miller3,62,720$1,70,000$
Joshua Little5,31,988$1,70,000$
Akeal Hosein1,20,906$60,000$
Adil Rashid2,41,813$1,30,000$
Bhanuka Rajapaksa60,453$1,70,000$
Rovman Powell3,38,538$1,70,000$
Wanindu Hasaranga12,99,743$1,70,000$
Odean Smith60,453$1,30,000$

Follow Us