Latest Sports News

Ranji Trophy Quarterfinals: Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh and Mumbai vs Uttarakhand Day 1 Review



After nearly two months of fast-paced cricket, now the thrill of domestic cricket has started. The stars who robbed the audience with their fours and sixes in the IPL remained colorless on the first day of Ranji Phase 2. On Monday, openers Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mayank Agarwal, and Manish Pandey returned cheaply to the pavilion.

The quarter-final matches of Ranji are being played at the Aluru Cricket Stadium in Bengaluru. Among them, Bengal-Jharkhand, Mumbai-Uttarakhand, Karnataka-Uttar Pradesh, and Punjab-Madhya Pradesh are trying to make it to the semi-finals.

image source-

Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh: Day 1 Review

Karnataka scored 213 for seven on the first day at the Alur Cricket Stadium. Team’s opener Mayank Agarwal became the victim of Shivam Mavi with a personal score of just 10 runs. Shivam got him caught by Dhruv Chand. In this way, R. Samarth (57) took over the team while playing a half-century innings. Karun Nair made 29 and Manish Pandey scored 27 runs. Shreyas Gopal returned unbeaten on 26.

Mayank Agarwal was lackluster in the current season of IPL as well. He could only score 196 runs in 13 matches while captaining Punjab Kings. It includes a Fifty. At the same time, Uttar Pradesh bowlers Yash Dayal-Ankit Rajput have been empty-handed so far, while Shivam Mavi has got a wicket.

Mumbai vs Uttarakhand: day 1 Review

Prithvi Shaw had scored two half-centuries for DC in IPL-15. But he got out for 21 on the first day of Ranji Phase 2. He bowled by Uttarakhand fast bowler Deepak Dhapla. Prithvi scored four fours in his innings of 20 balls. Earlier, Prithvi had scored 283 runs in 10 matches of IPL at a strike rate of 152.97. Yashasvi Jaiswal, who came to open for Mumbai with Prithvi, also failed to play a big inning. He got out after scoring 35 runs in 45 balls.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, 21, has scored 258 runs in ten matches played for Rajasthan Royals. These include two fifties. Mumbai scored 304 runs for three wickets on the first day. Suved Parkar remained unbeaten on 104 while Sarfaraz Khan returned unbeaten on 69.