Latest Sports News

South Africa T20 League Winners List From 2022 To 2023 –Latest Updates

South Africa will host the SA 20 franchise cricket tournament beginning in the beginning of 2023. The first edition is expected to include six teams based in South African cities. In August 2022, the league was officially renamed the SA 20. Cricket South Africa (CSA) established the T20 Global League franchise in 2017.

The inaugural season was postponed by a year because there was no broadcast deal or title sponsor. Instead, the Mzansi Super League, which has six CSA-owned teams, took its place in June 2018. Both leagues ended in failure. Before the COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 and 2021 seasons, the MSL only existed for two seasons.

Through a brand-new company called Africa Cricket Development (Pty) Limited (ACD), CSA established SA20 in 2022. Sundar Raman, a former Chief Operating Officer of the Indian Premier League (IPL), owns the remaining 20% of ACD. Broadcaster SuperSport owns 30% of ACD. Franchises from the IPL purchased all six of the teams.

The One Day International series against Australia, which was scheduled to begin in January 2023, was canceled by CSA in July 2022 in order for SA20 to proceed. In August 2022, Graeme Smith was named tournament commissioner.

Later in the month, the most important players for the first season were announced. The six teams in the competition will play each other twice in the group stages before the top three teams move on to the play-off stages.

South Africa T20 League Winners List From 2022 To 2023 :

Six teams will compete in the brand-new SA20 Twenty20 league’s inaugural season. It is anticipated that the tournament will take place in January and February of the subsequent year. It is a fascinating fact that the six franchises are owned by the owners of six distinct IPL teams.

Based on their current roster and active players, we believe that Paarl Royals have a good chance of winning the first SA20 trophy. Hitters like David Miller, Jason Roy, and Jos Buttler add strength to the batting lineup, and good bowlers like Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Obed McCoy make up the bowling unit.

The Rajasthan Royals franchise, which finished second in the 2022 IPL, owns the team. With 17 players selected by each of the six franchises, the SA20 is beginning to take shape. Here is a breakdown of where each franchise stands following the player auction and the previous direct acquisition process that occurred prior to the auction.

Follow Us