The all previous FIFA World Cup winners: Since the tournament’s inception in 1930, eight distinct nations have claimed the coveted World Cup trophy

Argentina won the World Cup in 1986 under Diego Maradona’s leadership. (Getty Images) Follow Us Reuters | The 22nd FIFA World Cup is about to come to a close in Qatar, with Argentina playing France in the final on Sunday.
Argentina wants to win the championship for the third time, and France wants to become the third team, after Brazil and Italy, to win the tournament again after winning it in Russia in 2018. Before the final, take a look at the previous title winners.

Uruguay won the debut FIFA World Cup in the wake of beating Argentina 4-2 in the last in Montevideo. There were 13 teams in the first tournament, but only four from Europe.

1934: ITALY Hosts Italy defeated Czechoslovakia 2-1 in the Round of 16 .

Of a tournament in Rome. Several European nations were unable to participate in previous World Cups, so Uruguay declined to participate.1938: Italy won their second trophy by defeating Hungary 4-2 in the championship match. Indonesia, now known as the Dutch East Indies, was the first Asian team to compete in the World Cup.

1950: URUGUAY, where England made their World Cup debut following World War II. After defeating hosts Brazil 2-1 in the well-known “Maracanazo” match, Uruguay won their second trophy.

Similar Stories: Messi is certain to break two incredible world records in the FIFA World Cup 2022 final; complete list of Argentina captain’s accomplishments: Prize money for winner and runner-up revealed: Lionel Messi solves the Argentina puzzle in between retirements.

The third-place contest demonstrates why World Cups are difficult to predict: FIFA World Cup 2022.

Benzema to play for France in the FIFA World Cup final against Messi-led Argentina? France has set a date with Argentina. Deschamps responds to a question worth a million dollars:
The Morocco miracle in a World Cup of migrants 1954:” The former captain of Manchester United chooses Argentina over France to win the FIFA World Cup 2022 final. Germany West Germany defeated Hungary 3-2 in the championship match to win their first title.

1966: ENGLAND England won the World Cup with a 4-2 extra-time victory over West Germany in the final, their only victory. This World Cup marked the debuts of Portugal and North Korea.

1970: Brazil won the World Cup for the third time under Pele, defeating Italy 4-1 at Azteca Stadium in Mexico City. There was not a single player dismissed during the tournament.

1974: Germany won their second World Cup title with a 2-1 victory over the Netherlands in the final. 1978 saw the introduction of a brand-new trophy: ARGENTINA At the Estadio Monumental, Argentina defeated the Netherlands 3-1 to win the trophy.
With their 3-1 victory over Mexico, Tunisia became the first African team to win a World Cup match in 1982: Italy defeated West Germany 3-1 in Spain to become world champions for the third time. A penalty shootout was used for the first time at the tournament.

Germany won the tournament for the third time with a 1-0 victory over Argentina in Rome. Cameroon, led by Roger Milla, defeated Argentina to advance to the quarterfinals as the first African team.

1994: Brazil reached the final thanks to Romario and Bebeto’s leadership. It became the first penalty kick match in the World Cup final, and Brazil won their fourth trophy in 1998: The first World Cup featured 32 teams competing in France.

Follow Us