Latest Sports News

The Best Big Bash League Most Wickets Players Name

The BBL season 12 kicks off on December 17 with the Glenn Maxwell-led Melbourne Stars taking on the Sydney Thunder at Canberra’s Manuka Oval. Bowling in bounce and movement-friendly conditions like Australia is a challenge for a great bowler, and getting wickets in a T20 game Down Under isn’t easy. There are a few bowlers who have consistently delivered the ball for their teams season after season.Β 

Perth Scorchers pacer Andrew Tye, who has 118 dismissals in 85 BBL matches in eight seasons, is the only bowler in tournament history to have grabbed two hat-tricks. Tye scored his maiden hat-trick in the BBL 2016-17 season against the Brisbane Heat. Among those fired by him were Jack Wildermuth, Mark Steketee, and Mitchell Swepson.

Sean Abbott of the Sydney Sixers is the Big Bash League’s (BBL) top wicket-taker as of December 2022, with 125 wickets in 94 matches. Tye is seven wickets shy of Abbott’s total, and the two ferocious pacers will be the strike bowlers for their respective sides this season.

Surprisingly, Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan is the only overseas bowler in the top ten BBL wicket-takers. Lasith Malinga, a former Sri Lanka T20I captain, had the best bowling stats (6/7) against the Perth Scorchers in the BBL 2012-13.

List of 10 most wicket-takers in BBL overall

No.Player NameSpanMIOWRunsBBIAvgEco4W5W
1Sean Abbott2011-20229493307.512526095/1620.878.4731
2Andrew Tye2014-20228584296.111822835/2319.347.751
3Kane Richardson2011-20229088324.511725574/2221.857.8750
4Ben Laughlin2011-20219695333.111126934/2624.268.0820
5Ben Dwarshuis2014-20228381286.410223415/2622.958.1611
6Adam Zampa2012-20228584308.19822285/1722.737.2201
7Rashid Khan2017-20226161238.29215366/1716.696.4411
8Peter Siddle2014-20226868235.39017465/1619.47.4122
9Cameron Boyce2012-20228079278.48921145/2123.757.5811
10Daniel Christian2011-2022121106298.28924685/1427.738.2722

Follow Us