The World Cup final referee, Szymon Marciniak, has acknowledged having made a “mistake” during the game. Argentina put on a phenomenal performance in the FIFA World Cup final. Defeating France on penalties to win their third title. Even though France forward Kylian Mbappe put in a dominant performance with a hat trick. Lionel Messi ended a long wait for a World Cup title by scoring twice.
Angel Di Maria doubled Argentina’s lead 13 minutes later, following Messi’s 23rd-minute penalty kick. Mbappe, on the other hand, scored two quick goals in as many minutes (80′ and 81′) to bring France back into the game. Mbappe coolly converted the penalty kick with three minutes remaining to force a shootout. Even though Messi scored again in extra time to give Argentina the lead once more.
Kingsley Coman and Aurelien Tchouameni missed penalties, but Argentina prevailed 4-2 on penalties.
However, a week after the final, Szymon Marciniak. The game referee made a startling admission about a “mistake” he made during the final. He started to Sport, “Of course, there were mistakes in this final.” PL. “ Following a poor tackle by Marcos Acuna, I halted the French counterattack.
It’s hard. In a game like this, I make such a mistake in the dark. “The important thing is that there were no major errors,” Marciniak stated. In reference to Lionel Messi’s goal in the final’s extra time, the French newspaper L’Equipe mentioned the International Football Association Board’s Law 3, paragraph 9, which states that the referee must disallow the goal if a substituted player was present when the goal was scored. Uniquely, Marciniak responded to the criticism.
He opened a screenshot on his phone, which showed that seven French players were celebrating one of Mbappe’s goals when they entered the field. “The French didn’t mention this photo, where you can see how there are seven Frenchmen on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal,” Marciniak had stated while holding up the phone while speaking with reporters.