Latest Sports News

Top 10 highest wicket-takers ever in the IPL 2023

Most Wickets in IPL: Cricket is a game that is loved and followed by millions of people across the globe. It is a sport that has evolved over the years and has given rise to various formats that cater to different audiences. One such format that has gained immense popularity is the Indian Premier League, better known as the IPL.

The IPL is an annual professional Twenty20 cricket league that was founded in 2008. Since its inception, it has become one of the most popular and successful sporting events, not only in India but also in the world.

There are 10 teams participating in the league, with top cricketers from all over the world.

One of the most exciting aspects of the IPL is the competition for orange and purple caps.

At the end of each IPL season, an orange cap is awarded to the leading run-scorer of the season. Similarly, a purple cap is awarded to the bowler with the highest number of wickets in the season.

In cricket, every single player plays a vital role. Every single run counts, and so does every wicket. Wickets represent the downfall of the opposition team’s batting line-up.

In the IPL, the race for the most wickets taken has been a fascinating one. The league has witnessed some of the best bowlers in the world showcasing their skills and competing for the coveted title and the cap.

10. Jasprit Bumrah | 145

image credit : – dynamite

Jasprit Jasbirsingh Bumrah (born 6 December 1993) is an Indian international cricketer who plays for the Indian national cricket team in all formats of the game. A right-arm fast bowler with a unique bowling action, Bumrah is considered one of the best fast bowlers in the world. He plays for Gujarat cricket team and Mumbai Indians in first-class cricket and Indian Premier League respectively.

  • Team: Mumbai Indians
  • Matches: 120 | Overs: 457

9. Harbhajan Singh | 150

image credit : – the statesman

Harbhajan Singh is a member of parliament in Rajya Sabha and an Indian retired cricketer and cricket commentator, who played for the Indian national cricket team from 1998 – 2016 in a career spanning nearly two decades. Singh was a right-arm off spin bowler.

  • Team: Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians
  • Matches: 163 | Overs: 569.2

8. Sunil Narine | 153

image credit : – skysports

Sunil Philip Narine (born 26 May 1988) is a Trinidadian cricketer who plays internationally for the West Indies. He made his One Day International (ODI) debut in December 2011 and Test match debut in June 2012.

Primarily an off-spin bowler, he is also a left-handed batsman.[1] Narine was a part of the West Indies team that won the 2012 T20 World Cup, where he took the winning wicket of Lasith Malinga in the final.

  • Team: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Matches: 149 | Overs: 580.1

7. Bhuvneshwar Kumar | 154

image credit : – sports

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Singh (born 5 February 1990) is an Indian international cricketer who is playing for the Indian cricket team. He currently plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League and Uttar Pradesh in domestic cricket. He is considered to be one of the best and most consistent swing bowlers in the world.

Kumar swings the ball both ways efficiently, with his inswingers more effective than outswing. Initially starting his career as an opening swing bowler, Bhuvneshwar Kumar upgraded his bowling armoury with reverse swing, slower bowls and Yorkers to become a death over specialist too. With India, Kumar won the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

  • Team: Pune Warriors India, Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Matches: 147 | Overs: 546.4

6. Piyush Chawla | 157

image credit : – sports

Piyush Chawla (born 24 December 1988) is an Indian cricketer who has played for the India national cricket team. He has also played for the India under-19 team and the Central Zone. He is seen as a leg-spinning all-rounder in domestic cricket.

He spent his childhood in Moradabad, and learnt early essentials of cricket at Sonakpur Stadium under the guidance of his first coach Mr Badhruddeen, who has also coached Indian National cricketer Mohammad Shami, and young talents like Shiva Singh(India U-19) and Aryan Juyal(India U-19). Piyush Chawla completed his schooling at Wilsonia College. He was a member of the Indian team that won both the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 Cricket World Cup.

  • Team: Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians
  • Matches: 166 | Overs: 549.4

5. Ravichandran Ashwin | 158

image credit : – sources

Ravichandran Ashwin (pronunciation (help·info)) (born 17 September 1986) is an Indian international cricketer who plays for the Indian cricket team. He currently plays for Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket and Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

He is the fastest Indian bowler (also in some records the joint-fastest in the world) to reach the 50-, 100-, 150-, 200-, 250-, 300-, 350-,400- and 450- wicket mark in Test cricket in terms of number of innings.[2][3] In 2016, he became the third Indian to win the ICC Cricketer of the Year award.

  • Team: Punjab Kings, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals
  • Matches: 185 | Overs: 654

4. Amit Mishra | 166

image credit : – sports

Amit Mishra pronunciation (help·info) (born 24 November 1982) is an Indian cricketer. He is an right-arm leg-break bowler and right-handed tail-ender batsman. He plays for Haryana in the domestic Ranji Trophy and currently appears for the T20 franchise Lucknow Super Giants in the Indian Premier League.

In addition, he has represented India in Test, ODIs and T20s. With India, Mishra was a member of the team that won the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

  • Team: Delhi Capitals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Matches: 154 | Overs: 540.5

3. Yuzvendra Chahal | 170

image credit : – match

Yuzvendra Chahal (born 23 July 1990) is an Indian international cricketer who plays for the Indian cricket team in white ball cricket as a leg spin bowler. He plays for Haryana in domestic cricket and Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League. He is a Right-arm leg break bowler.

Chahal was the second player and first Indian to take a 6 wicket haul in T20I history.[2] He was the first concussion substitute to be named man of the match in an international cricket match.[3] He is a former chess player and represented India internationally in chess.

  • Team: Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians
  • Matches: 132 | Overs: 480

2. Lasith Malinga | 170

image credit : – cricket

nicknamed “Slinga Malinga”, is a Sri Lankan former cricketer who is widely regarded as one of the greatest limited overs bowlers of all time.[1][2][3] Malinga captained the Sri Lankan 2014 T20 World Cup winning side and is the only bowler to take 4 wickets in 4 balls twice in international cricket.

Malinga is a right-arm fast bowler that is commonly used as a specialist death bowler, and is well known for his distinctive round-arm action, sometimes referred to as a sling action, hence his aforementioned nickname.[4] Malinga announced his retirement from all forms of cricket on 14 September 2021.

  • Team: Mumbai Indians
  • Matches: 122 | Overs: 471.1

1. Dwayne Bravo | 183

Image credit : – mynation

Dwayne John Bravo (born 7 October 1983) is a Trinidadian cricketer, a former captain of the West Indies cricket team and the current bowling coach of Chennai Super Kings. A genuine right arm seam bowling all-rounder, Bravo is well known for his aggressive lower-order batting and for his bowling in the final overs of a match.

 During his prime, he was regarded as one of the best death bowlers in T20 Cricket. He also performs as a singer.

  • Teams: Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Titans
  • Matches: 161 | Overs: 519.5

Follow Us