Latest Sports News

2023 AFC Asia Cup Tournament

2023 AFC Asia Cup Tournament

2023 AFC Asia Cup Tournament. The 18th AFC Asian Cup will be held in 2023. It is the international men’s football championship of Asia and is put on every four years by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). From June 16 to July 16, 2023, it will take place. After the tournament gets bigger, it will include 24 national teams, including the one from the host country. Qatar is the team that won last year. The tournament was meant to take place in China at first. But on May 14, 2022, the AFC said that because of the COVID-19 pandemic and China’s Zero-COVID policy, China would not be able to host the tournament.

2023 AFC Asia Cup Tournament. The 18th AFC Asian Cup will be held in 2023. It is the international men's football championship of Asia


On June 4, 2019, just before the 69th FIFA Congress in Paris, France, it was announced that China had won the bid. But since China pulled out as a host, the AFC will decide later on in the second round of bidding. The due date is set for July 15, 2022.

Qualified teams

TeamMethod ofqualificationDate ofqualificationFinalsappearancesLastappearancePrevious bestperformance
JapanSecond Round Group F winners28 May 202110th2019Winners (1992, 2000, 2004, 2011)
SyriaSecond Round Group A winners7 June 20217th2019Group stage (1980, 1984, 1988, 1996, 2011, 2019)
QatarSecond Round Group E winners7 June 202111th2019Winners (2019)
South KoreaSecond Round Group H winners9 June 202115th2019Winners (1956, 1960)
AustraliaSecond Round Group B winners11 June 20215th2019Winners (2015)
IranSecond Round Group C winners15 June 202115th2019Winners (1968, 1972, 1976)
Saudi ArabiaSecond Round Group D winners15 June 202111th2019Winners (1984, 1988, 1996)
United Arab EmiratesSecond Round Group G winners15 June 202111th2019Runners-up (1996)
China PRSecond Round Group A runners-up15 June 202113th2019Runners-up (1984, 2004)
IraqSecond Round Group C runners-up15 June 202110th2019Winners (2007)
OmanSecond Round Group E runners-up15 June 20215th2019Round of 16 (2019)
VietnamSecond Round Group G runners-up15 June 20215th2019Fourth place (1956,[b] 1960[b])
LebanonSecond Round Group H runners-up15 June 20213rd2019Group stage (2000, 2019)
PalestineThird Round Group B winners14 June 20223rd2019Group stage (2015, 2019)
UzbekistanThird Round Group C winners14 June 20228th2019Fourth place (2011)
ThailandThird Round Group C runners-up14 June 20228th2019Third place (1972)
IndiaThird Round Group D winners14 June 20225th2019Runners-up (1964)
Hong KongThird Round Group D runners-up14 June 20224th1968Third place (1956)
TajikistanThird Round Group F winners14 June 20221stDebutNone
KyrgyzstanThird Round Group F runners-up14 June 20222nd2019Round of 16 (2019)
BahrainThird Round Group E winners14 June 20227th2019Fourth place (2004)
MalaysiaThird Round Group E runners-up14 June 20224th2007Group stage (1976, 1980, 2007)
JordanThird Round Group A winners14 June 20225th2019Quarter-finals (2004, 2011)
IndonesiaThird Round Group A runners-up14 June 20225th2007Group stage (1996, 2000, 2004, 2007)

Image Sources – 
Image 1 – Source Link

Follow Us