Latest Sports News

Arizona Cardinals – History, Uniforms, Rivalries, Staff, Players, and More

Arizona Cardinals – History, Uniforms, Rivalries, Staff, Players, and More

Arizona Cardinals – History, Uniforms, Rivalries, Staff, Players, and More: The Arizona Cardinals are a professional football team from the area around Phoenix. The Cardinals are part of the National Football Conference (NFC) West division in the National Football League (NFL). They play their home games at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, a suburb in the northwest of the city.

Arizona Cardinals - History, Uniforms, Rivalries, Staff, Players, and More: The Arizona Cardinals are a professional football team from the area around Phoenix

Team Journey

The Beginning

The team’s name in 1898 was the Morgan Athletic Club. It was an amateur football team from Chicago. On September 17, 1920, it joined the NFL as one of the first teams. The Cardinals have been a professional football team in the United States longer than any other team. They are also one of only two NFL charter teams that are still in business. The other is the Chicago Bears (the Green Bay Packers were an independent team until they joined the NFL a year after its creation in 1921).

The Movement

In 1960, the team moved to St. Louis, where it played until 1987. The St. Louis team was often called the “Football Cardinals,” the “Gridbirds,” or the “Big Red” to avoid confusion with the baseball team of the same name in Major League Baseball (MLB). The team relocated to Tempe, Arizona, a college town east of Phoenix, before the 1988 season. For the next 18 seasons, they played all of their home games at Sun Devil Stadium, which is on the campus of Arizona State University. In 2006, the team moved to Glendale, which is now their home field. However, their executive offices and training facility are still in Tempe. From 1988 to 2012, the Cardinals held their summer training camp at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff. In 2005, they trained in Prescott instead. In 2013, the Cardinals moved their training camp to what was then called State Farm Stadium.

The Wins

The Cardinals have won two NFL championships. Both times, the team was based in Chicago. The first one happened in 1925, but it’s unclear who could have won. Fans of the Pottsville Maroons think that their team should have won. Their second came in 1947, which was almost 20 years before the first Super Bowl. It was the first time they had won a championship game. They went back to the championship game in 1948 to defend their title but lost 7–0 in a snowstorm in Philadelphia.

More of the Championships

Since 1947, when they won the championship, the team has had many losing seasons. They have gone 75 seasons without winning a championship, which is the longest active championship drought in North American sports. In 2012, the Cardinals became the first NFL team to lose 700 games since it started. At the end of the 2021 season, the team will have 584 wins, 787 losses, and 41 ties for a total record of 584-787-41. (577–777–41-regular season, 7–10 in the playoffs). They’ve been to the playoffs eleven times and won seven games, including three during their run in the NFL playoffs in 2008–09. During that season, they won the NFC Championship Game for the first time since the AFL and NFL merged in 1970. In 2009, they went to Super Bowl XLIII but lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers 27–23. Since 1947–48, when the team played in the NFL championship game, it has also won five division titles (1974, 1975, 2008, 2009, and 2015). In addition, the Cardinals are the only NFL team that has never lost a playoff game at home. They have a perfect record of 5–0, with wins in the 1947 NFL Championship Game, two playoff games in 2008–09, one playoff game in 2009–10, and one playoff game in 2015–16.

Logos and uniforms

From 1947 on, the team’s logo was a cardinal sitting on the laces of a football. Then, in 1988, the Cardinals moved to Arizona, and the following year, the Arizona flag was added to the sleeves. Then, in 1990, the team started wearing red pants with their white jerseys. This was because the new coach, Joe Bugel, wanted to be like his old team, the Washington Redskins, who wore burgundy pants with their white jerseys at the time.

On October 11, 2009, when they played the Houston Texans in a regular-season game at State Farm Stadium, it was the first time the Cardinals wore white at home. In October 2009, the NFL raised awareness about breast cancer by having players wear gloves, wristbands, and shoes with pink accents. The team thought the pink accents looked better with the white uniforms than the red ones.

During the 2010 season, the Cardinals wore a new black alternate jersey for the first time. In 2017, the Cardinals were the first team to wear an NFL Color Rush set that was all black. The Cardinals’ Color Rush alternates were black with red lettering and black pants. The regular black substitutes have white lettering and white pants. Starting in 2022, black uniforms would be worn with a black helmet different from the other.


  • Seattle Seahawks
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • Chicago Bears

Retired numbers

Chicago / St. Louis / Arizona Cardinals retired numbers [6][33]
8Larry WilsonS1960–19721970
40Pat TillmanS1998–200119 Sep 2004
77Stan MauldinOT1946–1948
88J. V. CainTE1974–19781979
99Marshall GoldbergHB1939–1943; 1946–19481948–2021

Pro Football Hall of Fame

Chicago / St. Louis / Arizona Cardinals in the Pro Football Hall of Fame
4Ernie NeversFBCoach1929–19311930–1931, 19391963
Jim ThorpeRB19281963
13Guy ChamberlinEnd & Coach1927–19281965
1John “Paddy” DriscollQBCoach1920–19251920–19221965
2Walt KieslingG / DTCoach1929–193319441966
62, 2Charley TrippiRB1947–19551968
33Ollie MatsonRB1952, 1954–19581972
81Dick “Night Train” LaneCB1954–19591974
8Larry WilsonS1960–19721978
13Don MaynardWR19731987
81Jackie SmithTE1963–19771994
72Dan DierdorfT1971–19831996
22Roger WehrliCB1969–19822007
22Emmitt SmithRB2003–20042010
35Aeneas WilliamsCB1991–20002014
13Kurt Warner^QB2005–20092017
32Edgerrin JamesRB2006–20082020
16Duke SlaterT1926–19312020
66Alan FanecaG20102021
Coaches and Contributors
Earl “Curly” LambeauCoach1950–19511963
Jimmy ConzelmanCoach1940–19421946–19481964
Charles BidwillTeam Owner1933–19471967
Joe StydaharCoach1953–19541967

The Ring of Honor

Arizona Cardinals Ring of Honor
Charles BidwillOwner1933–1947August 12, 2006
Jimmy ConzelmanCoach1940–19421946–1948
1John “Paddy” DriscollQBCoach1920–19251920–1922
99Marshall GoldbergHB1939–19431946–1948
81Dick “Night Train” LaneCB1954–1959
33Ollie MatsonHB1952, 1954–1958
4Ernie NeversFBCoach1929–19311930–1931, 1939
62, 2Charley TrippiHB/QB1947–1955
8Larry WilsonS1960–1972September 10, 2006
72Dan DierdorfT1971–1983October 16, 2006
40Pat TillmanS1998–2001November 12, 2006
22Roger WehrliCB1969–1982October 14, 2007
35Aeneas WilliamsCB1991–2000November 10, 2008
13Kurt WarnerQB2005–2009June 18, 2014
22, 24Adrian WilsonS2001–2012September 27, 2015
25, 81Roy GreenWR1979–1990October 2, 2016
7, 17Jim HartQB1966–1983December 3, 2017
3Carson PalmerQB2013–2017September 29, 2019

Follow Us