Latest Sports News

Australia Squad For FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 And Players List, Position, Australia Match List

Australia is not regarded as a big footballing nation. Anything can happen in a game of football but Australia has never really proved to be a threat. They have qualified for the FIFA World Cup on 5 different occasions excluding the 2022 FIFA World Cup. They have been eliminated in the group stage 4 times and in the Round of 16 one time.

It would be surprising if Australia manage to reach deep into the tournament but we have seen stranger things happen in football and a fairytale run isn’t something that can be completely ruled out.

Australia earned a place in football’s marquee event for the fifth consecutive time and did it by playing 80% of their qualifying games away from home.

Tough border laws meant the footballers didn’t host any international games for more than two years. And so 16 of their 20 qualifiers were on the road in an extra-long campaign that started in September 2019 and culminated in Qatar in June with a 2-1 win over the United Arab Emirates in an Asian playoff game that gave them a shot at Peru.

The Aussies are already comfortable with the conditions in Qatar, where they were unbeaten in four qualifiers for 2022 and where they’ve won 10, drawn three, and lost two games since 2008.

Who Is Australia’s Head Coach

Australia’s head coach is Graham Arnold. Graham Arnold was appointed as the head coach of Australia in July 2018. He has helped Australia achieve its 5th consecutive qualification into the FIFA World Cup Finals.

Australia Squad for FIFA World Cup 2022

  1. GK: Matt Ryan (Real Sociedad)
  2. GK: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC)
  3. GK: Danny Vukovic (NEC)
  4. DF: Milos Degenek (Columbus Crew)
  5. DF: Fran Karacic (Brescia)
  6. DF: Nathanial Atkinson (Hearts)
  7. DF: Bailey Wright (Sunderland)
  8. DF: Aziz Behich (unattached)
  9. DF: Kye Rowles (Hearts)
  10. DF: Trent Sainsbury (unattached)
  11. DF: Jason Davidson (Eupen)
  12. DF: Joel King (OB)
  13. MF: Denis Genreau (Toulouse)
  14. MF: Ajdin Hrustic (Eintracht Frankfurt)
  15. MF: Aaron Mooy (Shanghai Port)
  16. MF: Riley McGree (Middlesbrough)
  17. MF: Craig Goodwin (Adelaide United)
  18. MF: Jackson Irvine (St. Pauli)
  19. MF: Gianni Stensness (Viking Stavanger)
  20. MF: Kenny Dougall (Blackpool)
  21. FW: Martin Boyle (Al-Faisaly)
  22. MF: Mathew Leckie (Melbourne City)
  23. FW: Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City)
  24. FW: Awer Mabil (Cadiz)
  25. FW: Mitchell Duke (Fagiano Okayama)
  26. FW: Marco Tilio (Melbourne City)
  27. FW: Nicholas D’Agostino (Melbourne Victory)
  28. FW: Adam Taggart (Cerezo Osaka)

The first match of the 2022 Men’s FIFA World Cup will kick off at 9 pm (AEDT) on Monday, November 21, 2022. The tournament is being hosted by Qatar and will conclude with the final at 2 am (AEDT) on Monday, December 19.

The fixtures were drawn on 1st April 2022 where 32 qualifiers were divided into their eight groups.

The World Cup sees the 32 teams divided into eight groups of four, with each side playing three matches against the other opponents in their group.

Australia Fifa World Cup 2022 Fixture:

November 23 – France vs Australia – 12:30 AM – Al Janoub Stadium

November 26 – Tunisia vs Australia – 3:30 PM – Al Janoub Stadium

November 30 – Australia vs Denmark – 8:30 PM – Al Janoub Stadium


Follow Us