Latest Sports News

Details about the India National Football Team

Details about the India National Football Team

Details about the India National Football Team: The National Football team of India represents India in International Football. It is controlled and monitored by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

Details about the India National Football Team: The National Football team of India represents India in International Football.
Image Credits:

The Indian squad is under the global jurisdiction of the Federation Internationale de Football Association. It is governed in Asia by the AFC.

The AIFF is one of the members who founded the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF). The Indian squad is a part of the regional federation.

The team had its golden period during the 1950s and early 1960s. During this period, India received gold at the 1951 and 1962 Asian Games. The team stood in fourth place at the 1956 Summer Olympics.

India became the first Asian nation to reach the semi-final of a Federation Internationale de Football Association-organized tournament. India has never participated in the Federation Internationale de Football Association World Cup.

The team made an appearance four times in the AFC Asian Cup. The Indian team was runners-up in 1964. The AFC Asian Cup is Asia’s top football championship.

India is an active participant in the SAFF Championship. The SAFF is the top regional football competition in South Asia. They have won eight times since it began in 1993. They became the most successful team in South Asia.

Home stadiums

India has hosted many home matches for the national team in its country. There is no specific domestic ground for the Indian national team.

The list of stadiums where Indian matches have been played is:

The Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Delhi

The Fatorda Stadium in Margao

The Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bangalore

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi

The Mumbai Football Arena in Mumbai

The Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati

The EKA Arena in Ahmedabad

The 2011 SAFF Championship and 2012 Nehru Cup were hosted at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Delhi. The 2015 SAFF Championship took place at Trivandrum International Stadium. The 2017 Hero Tri-Nation Series and 2018 Intercontinental Cup were played at Mumbai Football Arena. The 2019 Intercontinental Cup was held at the EKA Arena.

The Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, and the Fatorda stadium have hosted the AFC Asian Cup and Federation Internationale de Football Association World Cup qualifiers.

Coaching Staff

Current personnel

On 15 May 2019, Igor Štimac was made the head coach of the national team. The other technical staffs who joined him on this journey were his fellow members: 

Croats Luka Radman – Fitness Coach of the Indian National Football Team

Tomislav Rogić – Goalkeeping Coach of the Indian National Football Team

The assistant coach Shanmugam Venkatesh continued to hold his original post after his appointment back in February 2015.

List of main Coaching Staff

Croatia Igor ŠtimacThe Head Coach
Croatia Saša VukčevicThe Assistant Coach
Croatia Luka RadmanThe Fitness Coach
Croatia Tomislav RogicThe Goalkeeping Coach
Croatia Milivoje ŽivkovicThe Technical Director

Past head coaches

British Raj Pankaj Gupta1938
India Balaidas Chatterjee1948
India Syed Abdul Rahim1951–1952
India Balaidas Chatterjee1953
India Syed Abdul Rahim1954
India Balaidas Chatterjee1954
India Saroj Bose1955
India Syed Abdul Rahim1956–1962
India T. Shome1958
India Sailendra Nath Manna1961
India G. M. Pentiah1963
England Harry Wright1964
India Mohammed Hussain1964–1967
India Sachindranath Mitra1966
India S. R. Deb1967
India Sailendra Nath Manna1968
India Jarnail Singh1969
India G. M. H. Basha1970–1971
India P. K. Banerjee1972–1974
India J. Krishnaswamy1974
India Jarnail Singh1976
India Sahu Mewalal1977
India G. M. H. Basha1977
India Arun Ghosh1978
India G. M. H. Basha1980
India P. K. Banerjee1981–1982
England Bob Bootland1982
India Muhammad Salaam1983
Republic of Ireland Joe Kinnear1983
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Milovan Ćirić1983–1985
India Arun Ghosh1985
India P. K. Banerjee1985–1986
India Syed Nayeemuddin1987−1989
India Amal Dutta1987
India Anjan Chowdhury1989
Hungary József Gelei1990–1991
India Derek D’Souza1992–1993
Czech Republic Jiří Pešek1993−1994
Uzbekistan Rustam Akramov1995−1996
India Syed Nayeemuddin1997–1998
India Sukhwinder Singh1999–2001
Uzbekistan Islam Ahmedov2001
England Stephen Constantine2002–2005
India Sukhwinder Singh2005
India Syed Nayeemuddin2005–2006
England Bob Houghton2006–2011
India Armando Colaco2011
India Savio Medeira2011–2012
Netherlands Wim Koevermans2012–2015
England Stephen Constantine2015–2019
Croatia Igor Štimac2019−present

Current squad

The following players were selected for the final squad for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualification. 


Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

Amrinder Singh

Dheeraj Singh


Pritam Kotal

Rahul Bheke

Narender Gehlot

Chinglensana Singh

Sandesh Jhingan

Adil Khan

Akash Mishra

Subhasis Bose


Udanta Singh

Brandon Fernandes

Liston Colaco

Glan Martins

Rowllin Borges

Suresh Singh

Anirudh Thapa

Pronoy Halder

Lalengmawia (Apuia)

Sahal Abdul Samad

Mohammad Yasir

Lallianzuala Chhangte

Ashique Kuruniyan

Bipin Singh


Sunil Chhetri

Manvir Singh

Ishan Pandita

Follow Us