Latest Sports News

Durand Cup Winner List

Durand Cup Winner List

Durand Cup Winner List: Asia’s oldest football tournament, The Durand Cup, will be played in three parts: Kolkata and Assam. To get people involved, the organizers are encouraging communities to come together for the 131st season of the cup. This competition had its start in 1888.

Durand Cup Winner List: Asia’s oldest football tournament, The Durand Cup, will be played in three parts: Kolkata and Assam.
Credit: Sportsunfold

There are 20 teams participating in the upcoming competition, 11 from the ISLand 9 from other divisions. Some current I-League teams might not participate; instead, their B teams could play.

The Durand Cup 2022 is passed on to the defending champions, FC Goa. The cups will be held in five different venues– Salt Lake Stadium, Naihati Stadium, Kishore Bharati Stadium (West Bengal), Khuman Lampak Stadium (Imphal, Manipur) and Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (Guwahati, Assam).

2022 Teams:

  • Jamshedpur FC
  • ATK Mohun Bagan
  • Hyderabad FC
  • Kerala Blasters
  • Mumbai City FC
  • Bengaluru FC
  • Chennaiyin FC
  • Odisha FC
  • FC Goa
  • NorthEast United
  • East Bengal
  • Mohammedan
  • Rajasthan United
  • Sudeva FC
  • TRAU
  • Indian Air Force
  • Indian Navy
  • Army Red
  • Army Green
Mohun Bagan16
East Bengal16

Take a look at some of the winners and runner-ups of Durand Cup, one of the most popular football tournaments in India. Durand Cup has been a success for many years with all the details about the show since 2000.

2000Mohun BaganMahindra United
2001-02Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2002-03East BengalArmy XI
2003SaglaocarEast Bengal
2004East BengalMohun Bagan
2005Army XISporting Goa
2007Churchill BrothersMahindra United
2008Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2009Churchill BrothersMohun Bagan
2010Prayag UnitedJCT
2011Churchill BrothersPrayag United
2012Air IndiaDodsal
2016Army GreenNEROCA
2019Gokulam KeralaMohun Bagan
2020Cancel due to Covid

There are 16 participating teams in the Durand Cup tournament, and their names and past winnings are available. There is a team that has won the tournament 16 times, but all of the others have at least one win in the lifetime of this league.

East Bengal1610
Mohun Bagan1612
Border Security Force72
Black Watch52
Highland Light Infantry51
Hyderabad City Police43
Lancashire Fuiliers42
Mahindra United33
York & Lancaster Regiment31
Churchill Brothers32
Border Regiment22
Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)21
Gorkha Brigade21
Royal Scots Fusiliers21
Sherwood Foresters21
King’s Shropshire Light Infantry20
Madras Regimental Centre20
King’s Own Scottish Borderers20
FC Kochin10
Air India10
Army Green10
Gokulam Kerala FC10

The SC East Bengal has been the most successful and dominant club in the Durand Cup. They have 16 titles and were runners-up 10 other times. Currently, they are part of the Indian Super League with Manolo Diaz as coach. They are heavily sponsored by Shree Cement Ltd (76% owners), the East Bengal Club Pvt Ltd (24% owners). The club’s stadium is the Salt Lake Stadium and their home ground is the East Bengal Ground.

Follow Us