Latest Sports News

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2019: In a historical golden history, the ICC Cricket World Cup has been held since 1975 and this is the one of the most watched sports events in the world. Eight teams get invited automatically to compete for the title every four years and others have to fight for a chance to be able to compete.

Credit: Sportsunfold

There are ten countries included in this tournament. However, not all 10 teams participate every time. To date 12 World Cups have been played with Australia winning five times, India and West Indies winning twice each. England has hosted the tournament five times, most of any country. While Asian countries combined have hosted the tournament three times. West Indies has held the event once. Whilst Australia and New Zealand have held it twice.

In 1975, England hosted the first world cup and 8 teams participated. West Indies won the tournament with AUSTRALIA as runners up. There were 15 matches and players batted for 60 overs. Glenn Turner was the highest run scorer of the tournament and Gary Gilmour was the bowlers champion with 11 wickets.

In the year 1979, West Indies was the winner of the Cricket World Cup.

England has had the tournament twice. The number of participants in this tournament is the same as last time, with 8 teams total. There was one new team: CANADA played instead of EAST AFRICA. Every team played 15 matches, and West Indies won for a second time. This time, England was second place. From West Indies, Gordon Greenidge scored the most runs each match, at 253. British bowler Mike Hendrick took 10 wickets, the highest score in the tournament. Using the red ball, this championship was similar to the previous edition.

For the third time in a row, England hosted the Cricket World Cup. Countries from around the world participated, with eight teams and 27 matches in total. For this tournament Zimbabwe played in Canada’s place while India became new champions by defeating defending champions West Indies. David Gower was the captain of the championship and Asian teams comprised of new faces as well – Roger Binny and Ashantha De Mel both took 18 wickets throughout the tournament.

This World Cup was the fourth edition which was also known as the Reliance cup. The same countries as in the last edition took part in this championship. This time, the number of overs was reduced from 60 to 50, and 27 matches were played. Australia won their first crown by snatching away victory from England’s grasp with a win against England with Craig McDermott getting 18 wickets for them.

This year, 1992, the cricket World Cup was held in Australia. 9 teams participated this time. Imran Khan led Pakistan to victory for the first time. Martin Crowe from New Zealand was awarded player of the series for his impressive performance throughout the tournament and made 456 runs. For the first time, red balls were replaced with white balls and color clothing was worn in a series.

At the World Cup 1996, 12 teams competed: INDIA, PAKISTAN, SRI LANKA, ENGLAND, SOUTH AFRICA, ZIMBABWE, NEW ZEALAND, AUSTRALIA, WEST INDIES along with associate members KENYA and NETHERLANDS. Sri Lanka won the World Cup under captain Arjuna Ranatunga’s leadership for the first time. Sachin Tendulkar achieved the highest runs (523) at the tournament whilst Anil Kumble took 15 wickets. Sanath Jayasuriya was awarded player of series for 229 runs and 7 scalps.

World Cup 1999: The 7th edition of the cricket world cup was primarily held in England, Ireland, Wales, and Scotland. The 12 participants were ENGLAND, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, PAKISTAN, SOUTH AFRICA, SRI LANKA, WEST INDIES, ZIMBABWE along with associate teams KENYA/BANGLADESH/SCOTTLAND who all made their place by playing ICC Trophy qualifiers. Steve Waugh (Australia) led the team to victory by beating Pakistan in the final. Rahul Dravid (India) was the highest run-scorer of the series with 461 runs. Geoff Allott and Shane Warne were joint highest wicket-takers with 20 wickets each respectively. Lanse Kluesner (Proteas) was awarded man of the match for his all-round performance: 281 runs & 17 wickets.

The eighth edition of the Cricket World Cup in 2003 featured 14 countries, including India and Sri Lanka. Ricky Pointing captained Australia in the Cricket World Cups who won the series because of Sachin Tendulkar’s batting with 673 runs. The highest wicket-taker was Chaminda Vaas, who captured 23 scalps.

The 2005 World Cup was the 9th edition of the World. 16 countries from all over the world participated: South Africa, Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Scotland, Netherlands Ireland and Canada. All nations clashed in 51 games but Australia and Sri Lanka made it to the finals. For the third time in a row, Australia won by smashing Sri Lankan team and Glenn McGrath got MOS award for his stupendous bowling in the tournament with 26 wickets.

In this tournament, there were a total of 50 matches with 14 competing countries. India and Sri Lanka faced off in the final, led by MS Dhoni. India won the World Cup after 28 years with a victory over Sri Lanka. TM Dilshan was the leading run scorer, while Shahid Afridi and Zaheer Khan were the joint lead wicket-takers with 21 scalps each. Yuvraj Singh won the Man of the Series award for his great performance across batting, bowling and fielding.

Cricket World Cup: 49 matches were played between 14 countries. Australia defeated New Zealand in the finals, leading under Michael Clarke’s captaincy. Mitchell Starc was awarded player of the match, clocking a total of 22 across the series. Martin Guptill had the highest runs, with a total 547.

Ten countries faced off in the 2019 World Cup, played in England and Wales. Of these 10 teams, England was victorious under the leadership of captain Eion Morgan in the final against New Zealand, thanks to the rule of Duckworth Lewis. Mitchell Starc took the most wickets in the tournament (27).

1975West IndiesAustraliaEngland
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
1983IndiaWest IndiesEngland
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia & Pakistan
1996Sri LankaAustraliaIndia, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
1999AustraliaPakistanEngland, Wales, Scottland, Ireland
2003AustraliaIndiaSouth Africa
2007AustraliaSri LankaWest Indies
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia
2019EnglandNew ZealandEngland

Follow Us