New Zealand tour of Pakistan: NZ’s ODI and Test squad

The New Zealand cricket team has announced the ODI squad for the tour of India to be held in January 2023. Limited overs captain Kane Williamson and Test captain Tim Southee have been rested in this team. Both will return home after the Test and ODI series in Pakistan.

Wicketkeeper Tom Latham will lead in Williamson’s absence. The ODI series will begin on January 18. The team for the T20 series has not been released yet.

Credit-Getty Images

New Zealand ODI squad for Pakistan tour

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham (wk), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi.

New Zealand Test squad for Pakistan tour

Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Pakistan tour from 26 December

Before India, the team will go to Pakistan. In Pakistan, they have to play 2 Tests and 3 ODI series from 26 December 2022. The team for both Test and ODI series has been released for this tour.

The first Test will be played from 26 to 30 December 2022 and the second from 3 to 7 January 2023. There will be 3 ODIs on 10, 12, and 14 January.

The New Zealand tour of India will start on January 18

The New Zealand team will play 3 ODIs and 3 T20 series in India from 18 January 2023. 3 ODIs will be played on 18, 21, and 24 January. At the same time, there will be 2 T-20 matches on 27 and 29 January and the third match on 1 February.

New Zealand has currently released the team for the ODI series from India. The T20 series team will be announced after a few days.

Tom Latham will captain

In Williamson’s absence, wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham will lead the side in the ODI series against India. Mark Chapman in place of Williamson and all-rounder Jacob Duffy in place of Southee will be part of the New Zealand team on the tour of India.

At the same time, Luke Ronchi will look after the work of the head coach on the tour of India in place of coach Stead.

Henry Shipley is in the national team for the first time

All-rounder Henry Shipley has got a place in New Zealand’s squad for the first time. Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and batsman Henry Nicholls have been included in New Zealand’s ODI squad.

Injured fast bowler Kyle Jameson in June this year is yet to get fit. Because of this, he also did not get a place on the team.

Williamson, Saudi will not come to India

New Zealand has rested limited overs captain Kane Williamson in the squad for the tour of India. New Zealand also has to play the Test and ODI series in Pakistan before India.

Williamson is part of the team in both series. Both were rested with the aim of keeping them fit for the Test series against England. The series against England will start on 16 February.

Apart from Kane, Test captain Tim Southee, head coach Gary Stead and bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will also not come to India. All will return straight to their homes after the Pakistan tour.

New Zealand ODI squad for India tour

Tom Latham (c & wk), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi.

Follow Us