Planet Rugby Crew of the Year: Frans Malherbe, Rieko Ioane, and Damian Penaud all make it, but Ireland has the most representatives.

Five people keep their spots from the 2021 season, with Ireland having the most with four players and three countries having three representatives.

Our line-up has a few changes from the Planet Rugby Perusers’ Group of the Year as well, with three backs and something else entirely column taking care of business.

Planet Rugby’s Crew of the Year

15 Jordie Barrett (New Zealand): After Ian Foster’s positional shift paid off, the All Black excelled in the number 15 jersey before proving his worth in the number 12.

We thought Barrett was the most consistent of a great group, even though others like Ange Capuozzo, Freddie Steward, Willie le Roux, and Hugo Keenan had great seasons. His value to the All Blacks was obvious to everyone. He might play fullback for us in 2022, but don’t be surprised if he plays inside center for us in December of that year.

14 France’s Damian Penaud: On the right wing, where Kurt-Lee Arendse was favored over France’s Penaud rather than your teammate, we had our second advantage over you. After he led his country to a Six Nations Grand Slam and an unbeaten year, we settled on the brilliant Les Bleus again. In 2022, Penaud was a joy to watch, demonstrating his finishing skills on multiple occasions. He was such a well-balanced runner that he also defeated Darcy Graham and Will Jordan.

13 New Zealand’s Rieko Ioane: The final change you made to the backline is at center, where we thought New Zealand and Blues flyer Ioane should start because this has been his best year since he started playing Tests as a wing. Ioane has advanced ahead of Lukhanyo Am, Gael Fickou, and Len Ikitau on the international stage as a result of New Zealand’s persistence, which has paid off. In a World Cup year, New Zealand will hope Ioane continues this trend.

12 South African Damian de Allende: At last, we settle on something! Because the Springbok was a rock, De Allende was also our choice for 12th. While Bundee Aki, Jonathan Danty, and Barrett also stood out for Ireland, the All Blacks, and France, De Allende showed how important he is to South Africa’s hopes for next year by giving the Boks an advantage in the midfield. De Allende stood tall even without the injured Am outside of him.

11 Argentine Emiliano Boffelli: The Argentine goalkeeper has had an incredible year. He has been able to score crucial points off the tee with his effortless style,.

especially against New Zealand and England. Boffelli was a big part of Argentina’s memorable campaign. The Edinburgh back has been excellent, making him the pick over Marika Koroibete (Australia), Monty Ioane (Italy), James Lowe, and Mack Hansen (both from Ireland), who are all threats when the ball is in their hands.

10 Irish Johnny Sexton: In 2022, Sexton turned back the clock for Ireland, contributing to an impressive campaign with his drive and experience. While they just missed winning the Six Nations, they won the middle of the year series in New Zealand, then beat South Africa in Dublin, before an injury ended his Autumn Nations Series. Sexton prevailed over New Zealand’s Richie Mo’unga, South Africa’s Damian Willemse, and Argentina’s Santiago Carreras.

9 Frenchman Antoine Dupont: It’s pretty obvious, but Jamison Gibson-Park performed admirably for Ireland and Leinster this year, and Nic White and Aaron Smith performed admirably for New Zealand and Australia, respectively. Dupont, on the other hand, performed superiorly and consistently demonstrates his class for club and country. His outstanding leadership in the absence of Charles Ollivon led France to an unbeaten year that included the Six Nations Grand Slam.

season has come from the number eight All Blacks player. During difficult times earlier in 2022, Savea produced the goods every time he pulled on the jersey, even though others around him were struggling. Throughout the year, he demonstrated his ability to make contact meters, and his well-known dummy once more stood out, this time in Cardiff. Pablo Matera from Argentina, Gregory Alldritt from France, and Caelan Doris from Ireland are all mentioned.

7: Ireland’s Josh van der Flier: In a decision that was fairly straightforward, the World Rugby Player of the Year wins our seven shirt over Dalton Papali’i (New Zealand), Siya Kolisi (South Africa), and Juan Martin Gonzalez (Argentina). Over the past year, Van der Flier has grown significantly, producing goods every week for Leinster and Ireland. One member of an outstanding Irish back row who, naturally, expects to have even more in the tank for 2023.

Follow Us