Latest Sports News

Ranji trophy finals 2022: Mumbai will take on Madhya Pradesh today



The final match of the Ranji Trophy between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh will begin on Wednesday. The venue of the Finals is M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. While Mumbai is the 41-time champion, the MP team will be looking for their maiden title. Madhya Pradesh has made it to the finals for the second time in the tournament’s history of 88 years.

The team of Mumbai is playing under the leadership of Prithvi Shaw. While the captain of Madhya Pradesh is Aditya Shrivastava. MP is laying the title match after 23 years. Coach Chandrakant Pandit is being given maximum credit for this success of MP.


Mumbai vs Madhya Pradesh: Match preview

There is the most probability of the overcast condition here at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. The 5th T20 match of the India- South Africa series was also scheduled here. But It was abundant due to rain and series remained drawn.

Mumbai had played the semifinals against Uttar Pradesh. While Madhya Pradesh in turn humbled Bengal and Aditya Shrivastava’s men even employed spin from the initial overs. This unit punches above its weight and in coach Chandrakant Pandit. It has a star, who was an insider with Mumbai before he switched to Madhya Pradesh.

Pandit had taken charge of the team’s coaching only two years ago. In the first year of his tenure, the MP team was knocked out in the league round itself. Then in the next season, that is, this time MP did wonders. Coach Pandit, who was appointed at an annual salary of around Rs 1.5 crore, took the team from floor to floor in two years. Earlier, he has made Mumbai champions in 2015-16, Vidarbha in 2017-18, and 2018-19.

probable XI

Mumbai: Prithvi Shaw (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Armaan Jaffer, Suved Parkar, Sarfaraz Khan, Hardik Tamore (wk), Shams Mulani, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tanush Kotian, Mohit Avasthi, Tushar Deshpande

Madhya Pradesh: Yash Dubey, Himanshu Mantri (wk), Shubham Sharma, Rajat Patidar, Aditya Shrivastava (c), Akshat Raghuwanshi, Saransh Jain, Anubhav Agarwal, Gaurav Yadav, Kumar Kartikeya, Puneet Datey