Ranking MI’s 5 greatest bowlers ever

The Mumbai Indians (MI) are the best Indian Head Association (IPL) establishment subsequent to bringing home the championship across five versions.
After failing to advance to the semi-finals during their formative years, their participation in the competition was not at all straightforward at the outset.

However, things improved in the 2010 season, when they qualified for the knockout rounds and even advanced to the finals.
When they named Rohit Sharma captain of the team midway through the 2013 season, MI began their quest for glory.
Throughout the team’s history, they have been known to have a strong bowling attack, especially when they won the title.

Balance and adaptability have always been hallmarks of their bowling team. MI’s bowlers have frequently won individual franchise matches, particularly those with high stakes.
Even though their bowling team was in disarray the previous season, they have had some talented bowlers throughout their 15 years competing in the tournament.

In light of this, let’s look at their five best bowlers.

#5 Krunal Pandya

During his five years with the team, the left-handed all-rounder was a valuable acquisition.
After his brother Hardik Pandya had made a positive impression during the previous campaign, he was signed at the IPL 2016 Auction for a sum of two crore rupees.

After that, Krunal Pandya had a long and successful career with the team, helping them to multiple titles and becoming their sixth-highest wicket-taker. He was the primary spinner for the team and kept MI in control in the middle overs.

Before being released ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction, the all-rounder had taken 51 wickets in 84 matches.
After being acquired by the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), his time with the team came to an end.

#4 Mitchell McClenaghan

The left-arm seamer from New Zealand caught the five-time champions off guard.
From 2015 to 2019, he was a member of the team and quickly established himself as a well-liked figure on the team and among fans.

After Jason Beherendorff was injured in the 2018 season, Mitchell McClenaghan was also brought in as an injury replacement. He took 14 wickets that year before taking three in his final season.
He finished with over 14 wickets in each of his first four seasons with the franchise, demonstrating his consistency.

He finished his time with the franchise as the fourth-highest wicket-taker of all time, taking 71 wickets in 56 matches.

#3 Harbhajan Singh

Since the Wankhede Stadium has not been kind to tweakers, Harbhajan Singh is the sole spinner on the list.
He went on to have a very successful career with the five-time champions despite that fact.
The player, who was born in Punjab, was one of the most successful off-spinners in IPL history. During the franchise’s early years, he also served as captain.

He was with the five-time champs from the underlying season in 2008 till the 2017 season.
Harbhajan Singh finished his profession with the side subsequent to taking 127 wickets to his name from 136 matches at a tightfisted economy of 6.95.
He is likewise the establishment’s best spinner by far, being the sole spinner to break the three-figure mark concerning wickets for the group.

#2 Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah has been a matchwinner for them since the first day, even though the team’s current bowling spearhead will miss the 2023 season.

With 145 wickets in 120 matches, the right-arm pacer is already ranked highly as the franchise’s best bowler. He is additionally the unsurpassed second-driving wicket-taker for the establishment.

The franchise has no intention of parting ways with Bumrah, so the wicket total will likely rise.
However, given how he recovers from his current setback, he will have to wait a while before becoming the franchise’s greatest bowler ever.

#1 Lasith Malinga

During his 11-year IPL career, the former Sri Lankan bowler captivated the franchise and its fan base.
He only played for MI in the IPL, but he ended up taking 170 wickets in 122 matches, making him the franchise’s leading wicket-taker.

The performance of Lasith Malinga was crucial to the team’s success in the competition. In 2011, he also won the Purple Cap after taking 28 wickets in 16 matches.
He is not only the best bowler in the franchise but also one of the best bowlers to have ever played in the competition thanks to his death-bowling skills and ability to relentlessly take wickets.

Follow Us