Latest Sports News

Tata Open in Maharashtra: Wild cards are given to Sumit Nagal and Arjun Kadhe

The Balewadi Arena will host the first round of the only ATP 250 event in South Asia on Saturday and Sunday; The main draw, on the other hand, will begin on January 2.

Sumit Nagal and Arjun Kadhe, both Indian tennis players, received wild cards on Friday to compete in the singles and doubles main draws of the fifth Tata Open Maharashtra, which will take place in Pune from December 31 to January 7.

The Balewadi Stadium will host the qualifying rounds for the only ATP 250 tournament in South Asia on Saturday and Sunday, but the main draw will begin on January 2.

After Mukund Sasikumar, the 25-year-old Nagal is the subsequent extraordinary case player in the singles chief draw.

Nagal received his qualification for the US Open and French Open at the beginning of the year. In August, he also reached the quarterfinals of a German ATP Challenger tournament. The singles tournament will feature 17 competitors, including the current world number one. 17 Cilic Marin: “Because it is the largest tennis tournament we have in India and we all get a chance to play,” “This is the happiest week of the year for Indian tennis players.” In a statement made public by the organizers, Nagal thanked everyone for giving him the chance to play here.

Kadhe, a native of Pune, and Brazil’s Fernando Romboli will team up. At the ATP Challenger event in Turkey in September, the two finished as runners-up.

Prashant Sutar, who serves as the tournament director and is also the chairman of the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association, stated, “I strongly feel a tournament of this magnitude is simply not possible without strong government support, and we are fortunate enough to get that support.”

“We had the option to effectively direct the competition last year, which was enormously valuable by the ATP, regardless of the difficulties presented by Coronavirus. We have quite possibly of the best field this year, and numerous players have decided to get back to Pune again and again, making it their essential objective. Each year, we keep expanding this tournament.”

Double cross Huge homerun champion Rohan Bopanna and three-time Huge homerun champion Rajeev Smash will be significant attracts duplicates.

Follow Us