The 2024 T20 World Cup will be played in a new format

With 20 participating nations divided into four groups of five teams each and a Super Eight stage in the first round.

The first round in 2021 and 2022 was followed by the Super 12, but in the following tournament, the top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super Eight phase, where they will be further divided into two groups of four each.

The top two teams from each Super Eights group will then advance to the semi-finals, which will be followed by the championship game.
Upwards of 12 groups have previously gotten their compartment in the following version of the competition to be played in West Indies and the US.

The United States and the West Indies take the first two spots as hosts.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next-best teams on the ICC men’s T20I Rankings, have also secured their spots for the 2024 tournament. The top eight teams in the T20 World Cup that were recently held in Australia (top four in each Super 12 group), which included the defending champions, Pakistan, and the runners-up, England, have already secured their spots for the event.

Regional play will determine the final eight spots for the 2024 tournament, according to a press release from the International Cricket Council.

“While Zimbabwe was unable to capitalize on their strong start to the campaign, finishing last in the Super 12 group to be sent back to regional qualification,” the ICC stated in the release. “While South Africa claimed 2024 qualification by virtue of their top eight finish,” the release continued.

There will be two qualifying spots available for Europe, Asia, and Africa, and one each for the Americas and East Asia, and the Pacific.
In the first round of the last two T20 World Cups, there were two groups of four teams made up of nations that qualified for the tournament and teams that finished between ninth and 12th in the previous tournament.

The remaining eight teams that had already qualified for the Super 12 stage were then joined by the top two teams from each group in the first round.

Follow Us