Latest Sports News

Top 10 Best Motocross Riders Of All-Time

It is difficult to select the top 10 most famous motocross riders in the sport’s history due to the sport’s history of incredible riders. Top 10 Best Motocross Riders Of All-Time However, there are still a few who have distinguished between regular pros and top pros.

In addition, a few have made significant contributions to the sport, both within and outside of racing, and have achieved jaw-dropping feats. Based on their performance and accomplishments, “SUF” ranks the top 15 best motocross riders of all time using extensive knowledge of the sport.

Here Are The Top 10 Best Motocross Riders Of All-Time :

10. Georges Jobe

  • Years active: 1979–1992
  • Teams: Suzuki, Kawasaki, Honda

The most well-known motocross rider was Georges Jobe, who won the 1987 500cc championship in a privateer Honda CR500. During his time riding, he won the title five times. In 1980 and 1983, Jobe won the FIM World 250cc Motocross Championship.

In 1987, 1991, and 1992, he won the FIM World 500cc Motocross Championship three more times, bringing his total number of championship victories to five.

9. Eric Geboers

  • Years active: 1980–1990
  • Teams: Suzuki, Honda

The late professional Motocross racer and racing driver from Belgium were prolific in the racing world. Eric Geboers became the first Motocross racer to win the World Championship in the 125cc, 250cc, and 500cc categories during his ten-year racing career.

He was named an FIM Legend in 2011 for his accomplishments and recognition in motorcycle racing. As a result, he joined the list of the greatest motocross riders ever.

8. Roger de Coster

  • Years active: 1966–1980
  • Teams: ČZ, Suzuki, Honda

Roger de Coster was a ruling figure in motocross during the 70s. He won five Motocross World Championships and a record 36 500cc Grand Prix victories, making him the sport’s face. Coster was dubbed “The man” due to his expertise, accomplishments, and superior performance in the sport. Importantly, he led the first American team to its first Motorcross Des Nations victory in 1981 as team manager.

7. Joël Robert

  • Years active: 1960–1976
  • Teams: CZ, Suzuki, Puch

Robert was one of the sport’s most gifted natural riders. In the European motocross championship in the early 1960s, he made his professional debut. He became the youngest rider to ever win the 250cc world championship in 1964 while riding a CZ motorcycle.

In 1968 and 1969, he did it again. He won the 250cc Grand Prix championship in 1970, 1971, and 1972 after switching to Suzuki, and he also won 50 motocross Grand Prix during his career.

6. Tony Caroli

  • Years active: 2002–present
  • Teams: Yamaha (2004–2009), KTM (2010–present)

“Tony” Caroli, an Italian professional motocross racer, won his first FIM Motocross World Championship in the MX2-GP class in 2002 and 2005. He raced for Yamaha from 2004 to 2009 and KTM from 2010 to the present. He won it again in 2007 after that.

He continued his winning streak after joining Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, winning his title in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014. He won nine FIM Motocross Championships altogether. One of the most successful motocross racers in history is Tony Caroli.

5. Ricky Johnson

  • Years active: 1980–1991
  • Teams: Yamaha, Honda

Ricky Johnson, then 20 years old, won the national Motocross championship in the 250cc class in 1984. He procured a solicitation to the US Motocross crew, which contended in Maggiora, Italy, and won a decisive victory with the US group.

He won the 250 and 500 titles in 1987 and ruled the sport. Unfortunately, he retired at the age of 26 due to a wrist injury that ended his prominent success in the Motocross sport.

4. James Stewart Jr

  • Years active: 2002–2019
  • Teams: Kawasaki, Yamaha, Suzuki

Stewart may be the sport’s fastest Motocross racer ever. He was dubbed “The Fastest Man on the Planet” due to his extraordinary speed, athleticism, and vitality. He won every race in the AMA Motocross season of 2008 with ease. Just a single other rider accomplished this accomplishment, Ricky Carmichael, during his undefeated run.

3. Bob Hannah

  • Years active: 1976–1989
  • Teams: Yamaha, Honda, Suzuki

Hannah was a wild rider who frequently appeared to be losing control, but despite his aggressive driving style, he maintained balance and control. He was dubbed “Hurricane Hannah” because of his laid-back riding style. In the late 1970s and early 1980s, he was the face of American motocross.

2. Ricky Carmichael

  • Years active: 1997–2007
  • Teams: Kawasaki, Honda, Suzuki

The inductee into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame is regarded by many as the greatest motocross rider of all time (G.O.A.T.) due to his remarkable accomplishments. Over the course of his 11 years in the position, he won 150 games.

1. Stefan Everts 

  • Years active: 1988–2006
  • Teams: Suzuki, Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, KTM

Stefan is without a doubt the greatest and most successful motocross rider of all time, competing on Suzuki, Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, and KTM.His awards and accomplishments are endless. He won the World Championship ten times and won 101 Grand Prix races, winning three races every day. He is the first and only rider to win the World Championship on all four Japanese brands.

Follow Us