WATCH: Indian Women’s Hockey teams celebrate their return following their victory in the FIH Nations Cup

The Indian women’s national field hockey team, which is governed by Hockey India and represents India in international field hockey, Nabhvarna is the best team in Asia and currently sits in sixth place in the FIH World Rankings.

The Indian women’s hockey team made history by winning the FIH Nations League for the first time.
In the Nations League finals on Saturday, the Indian women defeated their Spanish counterparts 1-0 to advance to the next round.

The Indian women’s team was awarded a spot in the FIH Pro League in 2023-2024 thanks to their victory.

The unit was observed dancing to the beat of the well-known song “Champion, champions,” which was made popular by the cricketing exploits of West Indies allrounder Dwayne Bravo, as the ecstatic squad returned to the country.

In the decisive match against Spain, India’s Gurjit Kaur scored the game-winning goal to help India win the tournament in Valencia. She converted a penalty corner in the sixth minute to give the visitors the lead, which they held onto until the end to win.

Following their special achievement, which was the result of their remarkable efforts, the players danced uncontrollably in happiness.

India defeated Chile 3-1 in the tournament’s opening match before defeating Japan 2-1. The ladies dressed in blue finished off their gathering with 9 points from three games as they polished off their last gathering game with a persuading 2-0 win over South Africa.

Savita Punia played a key role in the penalty shootout

India faced Ireland in the semi-final, where the team’s captain Savita Punia played a key role in the penalty shootout after a tense 1-1 draw. In the end, India won the penalty shootout 2-1 over the Irish to advance to the final against host nation Spain, which they won to take home the trophy.

In addition, Savita Punia was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper for her efforts in front of the goal as she guided her team to an unforgettable victory.

With two goals, Gurjit Kaur finished the season as India’s top scorer, one goal behind Ireland’s Katheryn Mullan, who scored the most in the tournament.

India emerged victorious thanks to the goals scored by Salima Tete, Beauty Dungdung, Udita Duhan, Deep Grace Ekka, Navneet Kaur, Sangita Kumari, and Sonika Tandi.

Follow Us