Latest Sports News

What happened the last time India played a T20I in Pune? 

Team India will face Sri Lanka in the second match of the three-match series after their thrilling victory in the first T20I. The match is scheduled to take place on January 7 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune.

India has played three T20 internationals in Pune thus far, winning two of them and losing one.
The pitch at the MCA Stadium in Pune helps batters and spin bowlers because it is right next to Mumbai, where the first Twenty20 International was played.

At the MCA Stadium, teams that bat first has won more games than teams that chase them (29 times), which is not the case at many other venues. Spinners have performed slightly better than fast bowlers on this black-soil surface, with an economy of 7.37 versus almost 8 for seamers.

India last played a Twenty20 International in Pune in January 2020. The third T20I between India and Sri Lanka that decided the series was played in Pune. After the first T20I in Indore was postponed due to rain, India prevailed.

Lasith Malinga, the captain of Sri Lanka, invited India to bat first after winning the toss in the third Twenty20 International. After scoring 97 runs in the first 11 overs, Indian openers KL Rahul (54 off 36 balls) and Shikhar Dhawan (52 off 36 balls) provided the ideal foundation for India. However, India was left reeling at 122/4 in 13 overs after losing four quick wickets in the next two overs.

With their 42-run stand, skipper Virat Kohli (26 off 17) and Manish Pandey (31 off 18) helped to stabilize the ship. Pandey and Shardul Thakur scored 34 runs off the final two overs after Kohli was run out in the 18th over to get India past 200.

The Sri Lankan innings in response never really took off. To score 202 against Jasprit Bumrah and the company, the Sri Lankan batting had to perform significantly above their weight. However, the chase was effectively over when the islanders lost their first four wickets during the powerplay.

Dhananjaya de Silva did play a brave fifty minutes, but he did not receive any support from the opposition. Bumrah, Thakur, and Navdeep Saini, Indian pacers, each took six wickets as Sri Lanka was bowled out for 123 in 15.5 overs. Thakur, a local boy, was named Player of the Match for his all-around heroism and India’s 78-run victory.

Jitesh Sharma was added to the Indian T20I team to replace Sanju Samson

On Wednesday, January 4, the BCCI said that Vidharbha wicketkeeper Jitesh Sharma will play in the two remaining T20Is against Sri Lanka in Samson’s place.

During the first Twenty20 International in Mumbai, Samson injured his left knee while attempting to field a ball near the boundary lines. He has been sent for scans.

Yesterday, the BCCI issued a statement that read:

“During the first Twenty20 International at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, Samson injured his left knee while attempting to field a ball close to the boundary lines.”

It went on to say:

“The BCCI Medical Team took him to Mumbai this afternoon for scans and a specialist’s opinion. He has been told to rest and get better. Jitesh Sharma has been chosen by the All-India Senior Selection Committee to take Sanju Samson’s place.”

Jitesh is a wicketkeeper and batsman from Vidarbha who is 29 years old. He was born in the Maharashtra district of Amrawati.

He became famous after making a big impression for the Punjab Kings (PBKS) in the IPL 2022 with his ability to score boundaries and frequently make quick-fire cameo appearances. Jitesh scored 234 runs at a strike rate of 163.64 in 12 matches.

Follow Us