When asked which of KL Rahul and Shubman Gill should open in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023, Harbhajan Singh stated, “His stats are not favoring him at the moment.”

Harbhajan Singh, a former Indian offspinner, believes that Shubman Gill, a young opener, should take KL Rahul’s place at the top of the order in the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Harbhajan thinks that the hosts should take advantage of Gill’s recent stunning form across all formats. Additionally, the former cricketer provided insight into KL Rahul’s subpar returns across all formats over the past year.

With the bat, Rahul, India’s stand-in captain in the Test series against Bangladesh, failed to impress.


Here’s what Harbhajan Singh had to say in a video that you can find on his YouTube channel:

Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill ought to be India’s openers in the Australia series, in my opinion. Gill is on a whole new level with the way he looks.”

KL Rahul is a great player, but his stats in 2022 across all formats don’t look good for him right now. Gill, on the other hand, is his life. In the past few months, he has broken numerous records.”

Shubman Gill ought to be India’s only option throughout the series: Singh Harbhajan

Harbhajan is so impressed with Gill that he wants the hosts to keep the youngster as Rohit’s partner in the first Test for all four matches. He is of the opinion that the youngster’s most recent upswing in white-ball cricket will also help him score a lot of runs in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

On this, Harbhajan stated:

Shubman Gill ought to open for Rohit Sharma if Team India wants to win this Test series. I believe he ought to be in the Indian playing XI for the entire series, not just one.”

India ought to support Gill throughout the series, in my opinion. Gill will score a lot of runs for India if he plays in the same form and with the same level of confidence. Therefore, I hope he plays.”

On February 9, Nagpur will host the Border-Gavaskar Trophy’s first Test.

Team for the first two matches against Australia in the Test Series:

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • KL Rahul (vice-captain)
  • Shubman Gill
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Virat Kohli
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • KS Bharat (wk)
  • Ishan Kishan (wk)
  • R. Ashwin
  • Axar Patel
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Mohd. Shami
  • Mohd. Siraj
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Suryakumar Yadav.

Follow Us