Latest Sports News

Details about Chess Olympiad 2022: Indian chess players

Details about Chess Olympiad 2022: Indian chess players

Details about Chess Olympiad 2022: India is hosting the 44th edition of the Chess Olympiad 2022 at Mamallapuram, Chennai. 187 countries are participating in 188 Teams in the Open section and 162 in the Women’s section.

Details about Chess Olympiad 2022: India is hosting the 44th edition of the Chess Olympiad 2022 at Mamallapuram, Chennai.
Image Credits:

30 Indian Players are divided into six teams for the Olympiad (11 Round Swiss League event)

Indian Chess Players

India ‘A’

P. Harikrishna — World No. 25 Harikrishna is the highest-rated Indian in the competition. He won the Asian title after becoming the country’s youngest Grandmaster in 2001. 2001 was also the year he claimed the Commonwealth title. He got to his name 2004 World junior championship title.

Vidit Gujrathi — Since the last Olympiad in 2018, Vidit went on to win the 2019 Biel International title. He was runner-up in the Prague Chess Festival in 2020. He was a quarterfinalist in the World Cup held in 2021. 

Arjun Erigaisi — He finished ahead of Levon Aronian in rapid chess competitions and was second best in blitz chess competitions. 

S. L. Narayanan — The 25-year-old from Thiruvananthapuram made the place into the top-six bracket.

K. Sasikiran — Sasikiran played as the fifth player in the team in the Olympiad held in 2018. She has five victories contributing six points from eight games on the fourth board. Sasikiran won the Rilton Winners’ Cup in 2021. He won the Fagerness International chess title.

India ‘B’

Nihal Sarin — In the 2018 Tata Steel rapid event in Kolkata, Nihal drew with Viswanathan Anand, P. Harikrishna, Sergey Karjakin, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Vidit Gujrathi, and Surya Shekhar Ganguly. 

D. Gukesh — He is the country’s youngest Grandmaster. He is the youngest in the live ratings over 2700. At 16, he has a published rating of 2684 as of July 1, 2022.

B. Adhiban — Adhiban is the oldest man and the lowest-rated player in India ‘B’.

R. Praggnanandhaa — The recent twin wins he obtained over Magnus Carlsen in an online event caught the attention of the cricket-loving nation.

Raunak Sadhwani — Raunak gained 47 rating points in 79 days in Europe. He was a Grandmaster at the age of 13 years, 9 months, and 26 days. Raunak gained a winning position against Viswanathan Anand in the Isle of Man tournament in 2018 but eventually lost.

India ‘C’

Surya Shekhar Ganguly – In 2011, he won the World Under-12 title and the Under-16 title in 2013. He is a two-time National premier champion. He was the runner-up in the match against Alireza Firouza.

Abhijeet Gupta – He won the World junior championship in the year 2008. Personalities like Viswanathan Anand and Harikrishna only had won the prestigious title before him. He won an individual silver medal in 2021 at the Chess Olympiad. He won the Commonwealth championship 5 times.

Abhimanyu Puranik – He has a FIDE rating of 2612. In 2018, he was the runner-up at the World junior championship.


India ‘A’

K. Humpy –  Humpy won the 2019 women’s rapid title. During the 2018 Olympiad, she scored five points from six rounds. Rated 2586, Humpy is the strongest player in the women’s section.

D. Harika — Complementing Humpy’s presence on the top board, Harika is on the second board for India.

R. Vaishali — Vaishali is the youngest member of the team. She gained her second Grandmaster title heading to the eighth Fischer memorial title in Heraklion, Greece.

Tania Sachdev — Tania returns for her seventh Olympiad. She claimed the women’s title in the Reykjavik Olympiad. She is an ex-Asian women’s champion.

Bhakti Kulkarni — Bhakti, an International Master, is articulate. She has a holistic view of the game.

India ‘B’

Vantika Agrawal — Vantika won the National online women’s title ahead of many seasoned names in July 2021. 

Padmini Rout — Padmini has won an Olympiad gold as a board prize. 

Mary Ann Gomes — Another member who has returned for her fifth Olympiad is Mary. She is a board-prize winner on the team. 

Soumya Swaminathan — Soumya is the former World junior girls’ champion. Soumya is about to play her third Olympiad. 

Divya Deshmukh — In March,16-year-old, Divya won the National championship

India ‘C’

Eesha Karavade – Eesha is going to appear for her fourth Olympiad. She has won the Woman Grandmaster in the past. She played Olympiads in the years 2010, 2012, and 2014. She won a bronze medal in 2011 at the Asian women’s championship.

M. Varshini Sahithi – Sahithi is ranked 11th among the Indian women category.

Pratyusha Bodda – Pratyusha is a 25-year-old Woman Grandmaster from Hyderabad who has returned to play the Olympiad.

P.V. Nandhidhaa –  Nandhidhaa was the runner-up at the World junior girls’ championship at Bhubaneshwar held in 2016. She has won Woman Grandmaster, and she is from Tamil Nadu. In 2020, she was a part of the Indian team that won the Online Asian Nations Cup.

Follow Us