Latest Sports News

European Championship Winners List – Who is the Most successful club?

The Union of European Football Association is the governing body for football in Europe and it organizes three clubs that is; The UEFA Championship, The UEFA Europa League, and The UEFA Super Cup. Football is one of the most awaited matches and one of the most popular ones, The tournament takes place every four years where Spain team is one of the most successful ones. Check UEFA European Championship Winners List – Who is the Most successful club?.

There are a total of 10 different nations that have won the title of ‘European Championship’ which is Germany 3 times, Spain 3 times, France 2 times, Soviet Union, Italy, Czech Republic, Portugal, Netherlands, Denmark, and Greece as 1-time winners. The tournament is one of the most unique ones and awaited, So now let’s check out the complete details about EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP Winners List, Who is the Most successful club?

European Championship Winners List

You can check out all the winners of football championship history from 1960 to 2020.

1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaParc des Princes, Paris, France
1964SpainSoviet UnionSantiago Bernabéu Stadium, Madrid, Spain
1968ItalyYugoslaviaStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1972West GermanySoviet UnionHeysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyStadion FK Crvena Zvezda, Belgrade, Yugoslavia
1980West GermanyBelgiumStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1984FranceSpainParc des Princes, Paris, France
1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionOlympiastadion, Munich, West Germany
1992Denmark GermanyUllevi, Gothenburg, Sweden
1996GermanyCzech RepublicWembley Stadium, London, England
2000FranceItalyFeijenoord Stadion, Rotterdam, Netherlands
2004GreecePortugalEstádio da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal
2008SpainGermanyErnst-Happel-Stadion, Vienna, Austria
2012SpainItalyOlimpiyskiy National Sports Complex, Kyiv, Ukraine
2016PortugalFranceStade de, France
2020 (2021)Wembley Stadium,

The European Championship competition was contested by senior’s men national team which was introduced in the year 1955. In the year 1980, there was 8 team that participate and then later on in the year 1996 the team have expanded into 16 and on 2016 the team expanded to 24 there were some certain changes after the World War II and now due to Covid-19 the pandemic situation there are some new changes.

The tournament starts with 32 teams which get divided into eight groups. Whereas the winning team and runner-up from each group goes to the second round until the third teams enter the second tier, UEFA Europe League. Also, the knock-out game is played in two-leg format except for their finale.

READ: Top 10 Best Football Tournaments In The World Right Now

Who is the Most successful club?

In the history of Euro Germany and Spain Soccer team are one of the most successful teams they have win three titles and one of the famous footballer Cristiano Ronaldo. You can check out the rest top scorer that is given below;

1960Milan Galić, François Heutte, Valentin Ivanov,Dražan Jerković, Viktor Ponedelnik2
1964Dezső Novák, Ferenc Bene, Chus Pereda2
1968Dragan Džajić2
1972Gerd Müller4
1976Dieter Müller4
1980Klaus Allofs3
1984Michel Platini9
1988Marco van Basten5
1992Dennis Bergkamp, Tomas Brolin, Henrik Larsen, Karl-Heinz Riedle3
1996Alan Shearer5
2000 Savo Milošević, Patrick Kluivert5
2004Milan Baroš5
2008David Villa4
2012Alan Dzagoev, Mario Mandžukić, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mario Gómez, Fernando Torres, Mario Balotelli3
2016Antoine Griezmann6
2020 (2021)Cristiano Ronaldo5

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More