Latest Sports News

Rugby Championship Winners List and Most Popular Team

The Rugby World Cup is a men’s rugby union tournament contested every four years between the top international teams, also the winners are awarded the Web Ellis Cup. The very first tournament was held in 1987 and was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia and four countries have won the trophy; New Zealand and South Africa three times, Australia twice, and England once. Check Rugby Championship Winners List And Most Popular Team.

According to the current format, twenty teams participate in the championship and all teams work hard and always give their best performance. In the year 2019, Japan hosted the Rugby Championship and in the upcoming year in 2023 next France is going to host and all the teams are all excited and set for their upcoming matches and they have been started practicing. So below let us check out the complete details about Rugby Championship Winners List And Most Popular Team.

Rugby Championship Winners List And Most Popular Team

Rugby Championship Winners List

As mention above the match is scheduled after every four years and many teams participate in it and give their best whereas there is one team who always impresses his audience or fans by giving the best performance and there are some new teams who join the club. So below let us check out the complete winner list schedule.

1987  New Zealand France29-9
1995South AfricaNew Zealand15-12
2007South AfricaEngland15-6
2011New ZealandFrance8-7
2015New ZealandAustralia34-17
2019South AfricaEngland32-12

Rugby Championship Most Popular Team?

  1. New Zealand; The New Zealand Rugby team which i commonly known as “All Blacks” they are one of the most succesful and popular team has they won the title three times in year 1987, 2011 and 2015. Being such a great team they have a winning record of 77% in test match rugby and is the only international men’s side to have secured more wins than looses against every test opponent.
  2. South Africa; The South Africa team which is commonly known as the ‘Springboks’ since 1891 the team have been representing rugby they play in green, gold jersey with shorts and they played their first match aginst British Isles they have won the Rugby title three times.
  3. Australia; The Australia which is populary known as  ‘Wallabies’ they represent Australia at Rugby championship and they have won the title twice in the year 1991 and 1995 and they are all set for the their upcoming match not only this team but all teams are set.

Follow Us